You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A sad text about visibility on Steemit - someone else writes much better about this

in #steemit6 years ago

When I see on a post that it has already 10 upvotes or more but only 2 views, then this shows that there are most likely bots at work.
I did delegate some SP to @jerrybanfield but then found out that my delegated power was used to vote for a quite shitty post so I stopped it. Then I tried minnowsupport to upvote one of my posts - this was quite embarrassing as this was then also the only upvote I got - so no real reader ...

Sort:  

True. Some posts, which under normal circumstances are 5-10 minute reads, solicit 50+ upvotes in the first 10 seconds!

BOTS!

For me that is harmful. Engagement is one of the finest indicators of a healthy social media platform, incentivised such as steemit or not, such as Facebook. And 'unthinking bit' don't help to that end, besides there other indirect harms.

Yes, you are right - bots are harmful to the underlying idea of steemit ..

They are, trust me, Thanks

Well luckily I can show I'm far off from bots right now, I can have 30 views and 10 upvotes in my posts. Doesn't make me feel any better though.

And we don't need to worry about being embarrassing. Some people are always worse - someone at one point used upvote bots but flagged the bot comments, so readers wouldn't notice so easily he has used bot services.

That's something really embarrassing.

Hahaha, people keep surprising me...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54