My 41st birthday today and my 4 month birthday with Steem

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

My 41st birthday today and my 4 month birthday with Steem

22.png

Besides the things that come with OVER 40 - longer hangovers, droopy skin, loose balls, hair in weird places, rectal cancer exams "excuse me sir please cough to your left. lol that stuff. hahah

I wanted to get this out on my birthday of all days. I started December 17th, 2017 on Steem. And ironically enough, its been 4 months time to date on my Birthday today. Happy 41 to me right? lol

In my 4 months time here I cannot begin to tell everyone what accomplishments I've made here and so much more to go. The list goes and goes.

My Steemit / Steem Experience Journey

1. First Friends Met

Patrice - without knowing me delegates me 50 SP to help keep my bandwidth alive because i was so excited to post stuff on this platform I ended up burning through my stuff so fast.

TheMarkyMark - one of my first friends here, And i still have no idea what the guy looks like but we've managed to become good friends on here, talking about everything. This guy is like your best beer buddy at the bar, without the bar or the beer... its all virtual man... hah. Great company, good insight to steem and a great educator on the platform.

aaa.png

2. Introduce Yourself

  • I didn't understand this at the beginning. I thought this was a tag you posted when you wanted to tag yourself like a selfie lol. I didnt realize it had a one-shot lifetime USE on the platform. I aggravated so many witnesses not grasping the concept. lol .

Screen Shot 2018-04-17 at 11.56.13 AM.png

3. @ma1neevent and @poeticsnake Radio Show

  • I go on a radio show for the fist time using a Discord chat server I've never used in my life and for some reason i go on the show when they have a major leader in the steem world, @aggroed. Instantly him and I become friends as we start to discuss my skillsets in UX/UI and where I've been.

6SYnXnC.png

4. @Fulltimegeek

  • I wake up one morning to see @Fulltimegeek has given me 1000 SP to help me build my reputation as a Steem advocate in the commmunity. I reached to him after reading a wonderful article and low and behold, a new friendship was born. Totally stellar guy. great community advocate.

asdfad.jpg

5. I was a member of Stewards of Gondor / Friends of Gondor

Screen Shot 2018-04-17 at 12.12.48 PM.png

6. I created #FollowFriday. A way to share people I've met along the way and showcase them.

BCBAD30A-139D-4C6C-BDB1-063BCDB7B7B7.jpg

  • Some cool People

@princessmewmew - one of the nicest people on the discord channel that helps me with "everything Steemit" she's been great. Definitely follow her. She's part of #adsactly a great community of people helping, teaching, educating, learning.

@socky - best mechanic on cars providing you with great advice on anything car related and loves crypto too

@kerlund74 - UX / UI designer like me and a great asset to the building of this Steemit Community. I love artists and UX.

@overkillcoin - has some of the best onboarding 101 infographics I've seen for the platform and usually will always comment back on your interest in his posts or just general comments. I enjoy him.

@spiritualmax - we liked MTG cards and share equal affinity for growing this platform.

@itinerantartist - has helped me on my UI design builds.

@v4vapid - totally great guy bouncing creative ideas together.

@yabapmatt - great guy, built @postpromoter, has always had my interests at the highest level. all around great dude.

7. I was a guest on the @Freedonexists Whaleshares discord Radio Show

  • This nice British guy I met on the platform when i did the other radio show with @aggroed. He too has a show on discord for great exposure and allowed me to contribute.

Promote-Your-Post-8PM.jpg

8. SugarSteem - A more personalized Steem Experience

  • I became so frustrated with the Steemit website that i must have rage quit a dozen times trying to do just about everything from buying steem, to adding friends, to tagging them, to making posts, to commenting and trying to remember users names so i could review there content. the list goes on and on and on.

download.png

I decided I would take a stab at building out a new version of the UI for @steemit, @ned, @andrarchy, etc. I wanted to see if i could get their attention to spearhead UI/UX and Product development. My mission was to be a part of their creative process while listening to the voices of the people.

This redesign series became and was is my community advocacy program now. Since there was little to NO response at first I decided to build my own UI redesign series strictly through Discovery Exploration to conceptual Mock Designs. Little did I know how much of an impact i was to have on the community and eventually this has now become my STEEM obsession with building a new UI that is more personalized for the Steem Blockchain.

I call it SUGAR STEEM - A more Personalized Block Chain Experience.

nonuser home list.png

nonuser home tile.png

My Profile.png

user_home_tile.png

Looking at another user 2.png

Looking at another User I.png

After many more versions later, I new UI is born and from there I have met so many people in the community that have advocated their votes, their comments, their praise. This Steem community has grown so huge and I'm stunned about the voice I've created that is being heard throughout the world all because I decided to put a flag in the sand and build out a version of the UI i felt would help the community immensely.

Look at this list of advocates.

@aggroed, @themarkymark, @velimir, @fredrikaa, @fulltimegeek, @brandonp, @geofftk, @fourfourfun, @dlew, @venalbe, @grizgal, @shawnvanderveer, @dedicatedguy, @datascience, @mitneb, @edicted, @jlordc, @arcange, @spiritualmax, @makerhacks, @isnochys, @dlew, @mikesthoughts, @rock220, @daan, @davidshaw, @rawdawg, @yogajill, @mcblessing1, @patrice, @princessmewmew, @kerlund74, @yabapmatt, @ma1neevent, @poeticsnake @shadowspub, @folken, @whatsup, @kubbyelizabeth, @freedomexists, @bbrewer, @kurtgrey, @swolesome, @flemmy, @reewy, @leonard17, @syednur47, @amisteem, @memocorredor, @outtheshellvlog, @moreseke1, @travissilvers699, @artizm, @mafi001, @queenbee12, @blusky, @jerrybanfield, @gomovies, @theversatileguy, @theb0red1, @thecryptogold, @strangevision, @atmosblack, @drmake, @tattoodjay, @futurethinker, @rondak, @ashleykalila, @jpederson96, @therealwolf, @thebugiq, @minatubo, @el-cr, @thewayiseeit, @princessdharmy, @crystalpacheco30, @aleksandar.vasic, @gcamkerten, @cryptical, @itinerantartist, @libertyranger, @mikesthoughts, @dedicatedguy, @theversatileguy, @austinhopper, @masscollective, @multi4g, @giddyupngo, @pittsburghhodlr, @charitybot, @pathtosuccess, @minnowsupport, @socky, @thehoneys, @yogajill, @zahril, @funbobby51, @cryptosharon, @maverickinvictus, @polebird, @minnowsupport, @travelersmemoire, @thatsweeneyguy, @icedrum, @tts, @mominsdt, @alltech1, @thatkidsblack, @muqarrabshah, @danielsaori, @nicnas, @shares, @k9disc, @artgirl, @acidyo, @wackou, @ausbitbank, @xaero1, @wesleybos, @lrock, @playitforward, @mod-tamichh, @noboxes, @discordia, @kodaxx, @dbzfan4awhile, @teamhumble, @hottopic, @kimzilla, @whatsup, @scorer, @overkillcoin, @yairdd, @dshelton32, @revisesociology, @lenatramper, @glenalbrethsen, @coffeex, @fourfourfun, @msp-lovebot, @travelersmemoire, @mitneb, @friendsofgondor, @interfecto, @sexdeathrebirth, @ms10398, @robertvogt, @ryacha21, @mackcom, @triverse, @oliviadejeu, @baby07, @thealliance, @jdevora, @saffisara, @fishyculture, @fabiyamada, @indian-mom, @jamesgetsit, @ipromote, @carface, @slickwilly, @edwardlewis, @geofftk, @etcmike, @austinhopper, @karencarrens, @titusfrost, @dolladu, @doggedfi, @steempowerpics, @akrid, @ericwilson, @jschindler, @bandm2016, @creon, @macmaniac77, @cgbartow, @fow, @saadiallan, @c0ff33a, @shuta, @guchtere, @thehoneys, @masscollective, @alexis555, @bue, @techslut, @protegeaa, @fminerten, @steempty, @stephen.king989, @spydo, @personz, @cron, @timwu, @inventor16, @jlordc, @oleksandr, @theb0red1, @inus12345, @v4vapid, @totolina, @appreciator, @smartsteem, @abh12345, @inquiringtimes, @wesleybos, @leeuw, @geofftk, @protegeaa, @moreseke1, @cryptocat, @mes, @edb1984, @remcovdpluijm, @drpuffnstuff, @celsius100, @eirik, @atmosblack, @pwrup, @seveaux, @thecryptogold, @stsl, @mstafford, @evecab, @sutekh, @kevbot, @hitmeasap, @arobquinn, @larus, @yekrats, @zipporah, @jlordc, @iansart, @ponoj, @samysamy, @beccadeals, @roguelike, @stopfox, @memebot, @alnedkov, @movievigilante, @trkaplan, @thebugiq, @jmvs, @t2tang, @ahmadrabdi, @benmaurice, @eeks, @wesleybos, @clayford08, @etcmike, @r0nd0n, @mattclarke, @datascience, @steematis, @arcange, @rawdawg, @katrina-ariel, @minnowuniversity, @stormriderstudio, @planet-power, @raphaelle, @jacobts, @fukumineko, @netuoso, @brandonp, @fminerten, @shadowspuub, @ammonite, @kriptonoob, @jamesbarraclough, @venalbe, @nataliejohnson, @ghasemkiani, @antimedia, @pjau, @cryptotem, @arobquinn, @allfothegood, @dogeking, @antoniokt, @practicallyapro, @mulletwang, @fukumineko, @k9disk, @gcamkerten, @isnochys, @rajasameerkhan, @sheriffakin, @shuta, @fabiyamada, @sift666, @maverickinvictus, @fabien, @ekitcho, @newsflash, @cryptoctopus, @valth, @moemanmoesly, @omitaylor, @bitgeek, @natamiko, @febrisahputra04, @gavinthegreat, @yehey, @alikhanzari, @justinemullet, @kingsleyemeka, @melvadg, @ikhlassamudra @paulasands, @kyusho, @indigoocean, @emwalker, @rasel.khan69690, @shumuel, @riazsheikh, @kryptorero, @nick2018, @mdrakibhasan, @frankbacon, @johnskotts, @krazypoet, @boyerobert, @mcoinz79, @z8teyb289qav9z, @arama, @demotruk, @timcliff, @felixxx

9. I've become a member of the #steemdevs Slack channel.

  • I couldn't have done this without the help of some really strong and kind people in my tenor here at Steemit. Thank you @ausbitbank and @cryptoctopus and @ned. I feel grateful to finally be in the community of design and dev and to truly start building with innovation in mind and growth for all steemians forward.

sdfgsdf.png

10. - its my 41st today!

Thank you everyone for the support, advice, praise, design assistance, and help in everything. I am sure i have left some people out. I listed what made me most proud so far. and I am grateful for another successful 6 months.

Sort:  

Happy Birthday!!!

May your next two-thirds of your Steemit year be as wonderful as the first. :)

hah i like the way you think. 2/3rds hah. well the goal this year was to hit 10k value on the platform. And from the direction im moving i still feel behind. however, the realization of all the ppl here and how best to interact with everyone is still an up hill battle for me but ill get there. Thanks so much for your comment.

You might very well hit $10k in account value. The price of Steem may go up once we have Communities and SMTs. Also, even with all things being the same, you might hit it even though you're just 15% there and 33% through the year. Because Steem Power is related to your vote, which affects you curation rewards, and it compounds. Same with the free Steem Power / interest we get all the time based on how much Steem Power we have, that compounds too. Right now it's something like 7% annually. Keep working it; it's good to have a goal, and in my opinion this is a good goal! :)

Thanks! If you have any insight on how to continue to grow and faster lmk. Just doing what i can...

You have done a lot in the 4 months that you have been on the platform and have even made a lot of kick ass redesign to the look of the platform and even personalized by community.

It has been an awesome journey and being part of Steem Dev you will be able to do more things. So here is to your success in the next 6 months.

Thank you! I never thought I’d be where i am 4 months later. I probably would have given up but thankfull I’m still here. That’s for the encouragement and i hope to prevail and continue to disrupt the platform in a growing way

So happy you're here on Steem :) I know you've made my time here through your posts and comments a little bit cooler. Such a journey this site takes us on, even in such a short period of time. I think we must have gotten started at the same time and it's crazy to see the different roads we've traveled.

Happy Birthday and hope you have an awesome day! :)

Thanks dude! Headed to Palm Springs never been. Give it a try.

Where are you normally located?

Palm Springs can be cool. It's definitely got a specific vibe, hehe. Going to go hiking in Joshua Tree at all?

Happy Birthday @theuxyeti! So..those are some of the things to think about with being over 40, huh? ;) I don't even want to think about the figures after that!

Sounds like you've had a wonderful journey in your 4 month time on here. The experience is definitely better when you meet good individuals on here. You need some levity (and support) to keep coming back day after day. I've come to find out that steemit is more than a blogging platform, you actually do make good friends on here. Without even knowing how they look!

I know I’ve made some amazing friends and great resources i love the platform

Happy birthday @theuxyeti! That is cool that you have done so much in the 4 months you've been here... You are a very awesome guy so I can't say I'm surprised! Seeing what you've done in your first 4 months, I can imagine that you will be a force here by the end of the year!

Again Happy Birthday and soon you will stop counting them :P ;)

Hah! Thanks! I hope to make an impact here for sure! And thank you for the bday wishes

Okay, okay. Enough about you and all the awesome things you've been doing here that Steemit desperately needs and we're all waiting not-so-patiently to use.

Where's the cake? How can this be a proper birthday without cake? :)

I think there's enough names behind this UI/UX overhaul of yours. Now, we just need some REACH expertise. And money. Money would be good. :)

HAHA you kill me dude. hah. you sound like my dad. Im doing my best within the skillset i have. Now i just need someone else to get involved. though i do have @r351574nc3 spearheading my dev so far, hopefully he's on it soon :)

Well, that's something at least. I really hope that happens soon. There's certainly enough firepower in your advocate list on with the folks you've come across. Ned by himself should be plenty. So, I don't know, does someone need to go camp out at the new Austin headquarters or something? :)

re: your dad

That's probably what happens after you've been a dad for over 28 years and then ten months into grandfatherhood. Cake becomes the most important thing. Because there's not as much time to waste as there was when you were 41. :)

hah i am hoping those guys eventually hit me up. i know im in touch with them at a distance but im sure they are working on SMT's and others. no idea.

agreed where is the cake lol

Happy birthday champ! 💓

Woohoo! Thanks! I haven’t seen yin in ages. Hope you’re well.

Happy birthday! And congratulations for all the achievements ;) I hope to see sugar STEEM as a reallity soon!

thats the goal. I still need some assistance on development if there are any ppl out there. thanks for the wishes :)

I call you friend not because i just wish to but because your first post i ever came across wowed me... Its a pity we haven't met on discord.

Happy Birthday

Thank you and reach out anytime or on discord!

Happy Birthday. We are almost the same age. I'm 40 :)

nice man and thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66