My thoughts on Steemians reactions to the Netcoins win

in #steemit6 years ago

Cult.jpg

I've read some people saying that the Netcoins Steem win is great. I'm not sure why it's great, but I'll take them at their word I guess. One thing that I've also heard however is that Steem (and Steemit) needs more people going out talking it up outside of this Steemit community.

My question is, if Steemit was so great, would anyone have to go out and evangelize about the Steem blockchain or Steemit? If it's so great shouldn't it be self evident. If Steemit was the new cool blogging service, wouldn't it be obvious. If Steemit was anywhere close to a good competitor to Facebook or Reddit, or even Medium why would anyone need to convince others to join?

The fact is Steemit is nowhere close to being my go to when it comes to what to do on the internet. The only reason I come back is to make a couple imaginary cents every once and a while and pray that I'm wrong and it will become a huge money maker. Or hope that Steemit gets out of beta and adds communities and somehow does at least become my new Reddit or Dtube becomes my new YouTube.

Do Steemians act cultish. Ultimately I don't really give a shit as long as I get paid. But is people going out rambling to others about blogging to make lambos going to result in my fake cents turning into real dollars?

I'm doubtful, but I really hope I'm wrong.

Sort:  

tbh I sometimes feel the same way. I'm on here to share my art and meet cool people (and obv try to make some $), but I still use other more conventional social media sites. It gets a little exhausting sometimes seeing soo many posts focusing solely on crypto or steemit...it's not like most of Twitter users talk only about Twitter. That being said, I'm optimistic about the future of Steemit, since I really do think crypto will go somewhere.

Yeah it makes sense that most posts are about crypto or steem / steemit on here but it gets exhausting sometimes. I'm into a lot of other things and really hope it becomes easier to find cool stuff that isn't crypto related. If steemit stays this highly self focused community of crypto-naval gazers it definitely will always stay this niche thing. Which, interestingly enough, is what all of these people using steemit say they don't want.

@thespacebetween, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Seriously, Mr. bot? Why must you do this to me?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by thespacebetween from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58