Learning to Code on steemit!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

download (1).jpeg

About a year ago I heard about CryptoCurrency. I mean I heard about crypto before but i didn't pay much mind to the hype. when i stumble across videos on youtube being Demonetized I then heard about Steemit from @thedollarvigilante and it wasn't until the word Steemit kept popping up till i finally got an account. i wanted to mine crypto in the beginning but then heard you could mine by posting to a social media site. I started with the idea that i wanted to post topics about the occult. so I did. I didnt get much but a few pennies my first post but it was enough proof to me that i had earned cyptocurrency from posting so my posts got better and I started getting more steem.

I met a Steemian named @adept who was a developer and upvoted my posts often and made my content worth around 4 Steem-token-units each time i got an upvote from him.

After getting more familiar with the Steemit platform i stumbled across discord and found SteemSpeak and there i met some developers.

After hanging out and just listening a lot and hearing the talk of Steemit, Golos, and various cryptocurrencies. I saw @adept in the room and I heard him speak. at that moment i felt like i was in the right place to be at that time. There in the steemspeak chat room I met @inertia and a few other developers. I stumbled across inertia's post about how to build a Discord bot like @banjo with a programming language framework called ruby on rails. Before then i didn't even know what a framework was.

so I tried to make a banjo bot and I couldn't do it. disapointed in myself i felt i had to learn the framework.

Screenshot 2018-04-22 06.46.07.png

@adept was a my first friend on steemit that took the time to teach me about steemit. He had inspired me to want to become a developer just like him and inertia.

i hadn't heard anything new from @adept when he used to post often but had seen anything for a while. so i decided to text him on discord.

Screenshot 2018-04-22 06.54.30.png

About a week after messaging him i saw him tagged on a post on instagram that said R.i.P. Luke. before then I didn't know his name was Luke. I started asking about him on instagram and his girlfriend responded. "yes it's true" and started seeing posts with R.I.P. adept. it was then I knew I lost a friend.

I guess you could say I got depressed and was hit pretty hard with the news. Luke had past away and i felt like I wanted to be like him. I wanted to help fill that void he had left behind. I wanted to be a developer like him so i pretty much quit my job to learn ruby on rails.

I started to download every course i could find on ruby. now I have a pretty good collection of courses in about every language.

with the ruby on rails course I learned to build an advanced website. i've built a cool websites before but nothing like this website that i built with ruby on rails/bootstrap/javascript.

Then I felt it was too late to turn back so I started looking for web development jobs in my area and what they require.
so now i have a goal. I have a list of languages I need to be more familiar with before I go and apply for the job.

i have been coding for 3 months now and in another three months I feel I will be ready to apply and get the job. as i have been spending my entire days submerged into learning to code.

thank you for reading my post. not sure if anyone will read it. i just felt i have to get it off my chest.

My friend adept has inspired me to want to try to get the career that could allow me to live the lifestyle i've only dreamed of.

FOLLOW, UPVOTE, & RESTEEM

STEEMDEVS Discord Chat!

PHILOSOFORUM Discord Chat!
Screenshot 2018-04-26 07.57.38.png
r.i.p brother

Sort:  

You told me you were watching T.V. With your boyfriend.

wow what a post! Glad to hear that you were inspired to learn coding but sorry about your friend :( good to see you back around Steemit though!My sister's boyfriend recently taught himself coding and landed a superb job in Boston - so good luck to you! Coding is the future present! lol like I told you on discord my 11yr old is learning coding and loves it - I'm going to check out that ruby on rails. Thanks for the tip.

Your post had been hand selected by me for @buildawhale & @upmyvote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-04-24-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

appreciator payout in the amount of $44 STU, $76 USD.
buildawhale payout in the amount of $30 STU, $53 USD.
boomerang payout in the amount of $18 STU, $31 USD.
pushup payout in the amount of $16 STU, $28 USD.
upmyvote payout in the amount of $3 STU, $4 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $110 STU, $193 USD before curation, with approx. $28 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @theoccultcorner and is by no means a judgement of your work.

This post has received a 19.54 % upvote from @boomerang.

Oh really?

You are truly the only thing I can speak too.

Will you propose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71342.73
ETH 3809.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49