You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does It Really Matter How People Make Money on Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I don't think it's matter how people make money on steemit, as long as they use common sense. I guess "common sense" can be relative but I believe over 90% of people on earth has an inherent idea of what "right" and "wrong" is. I believe in diversity and I do believe it is the spicy of life as they say :)

Nice Posting! Just upvoted and followed you, can you please do the same for me?
Thanks a million!

Sort:  

I don't think it's matter how people make money on steemit, as long as they use common sense

The problem with common sense is that is not as... common ...

I believe over 90% of people on earth has an inherent idea of what "right" and "wrong" is.

they might do but at the end of the day they will do what serves them rather than what is right.

I assure you there are people that act against their self interest to do what is right. Recently an issue was resolved where people accidentally or ignorantly posted their keys or passwords in the memo field, and Steemit members independently protected those people they found that had the problem, and wrote code to fix it.

They did not do this for a financial reward, whether or not they did receive one.

There are people that sacrifice considerably more, even their lives, to do what is right.

I, personally, do not even attempt to game Steemit for financial reward, but post solely to support free speech and good governance. This has not seemed to be highly valued by the community, which I find a shame, but recognize for what it is. No one is under any obligation to agree with me or reward me in any way.

However, if the Steemit platform cannot be designed to reasonably allow people to provide financial rewards to speech they find valuable in a fair way, this will be reflected in Steemit's future, particularly on a competitive playing field.

While that field does not yet exist, it would be wise to develop Steemit in such a way that it does not lose market share when that field does exist. That would be my preference for the future of the Steemit platform. I am a loyal person, and don't like to abandon efforts that have benefited me.

I tried Facebook, however, and became so disappointed in the censorship, lack of emuneration for the value I provided, and the propaganda, in addition to the cost to my privacy, that I have abandoned it utterly, even though I have friends who I can only contact thereby.

There are limits to loyalty, and rewards should inure accordingly, or there will be costs to Steemit.

They did not do this for a financial reward, whether or not they did receive one.

Ofcource they do. They gain reputation and community support. That is called social capital. Also look how much money that report most made. People know that the community will reward them if they give back to the community. This is how awesome Steemit is.

However, if the Steemit platform cannot be designed to reasonably allow people to provide financial rewards to speech they find valuable in a fair way, this will be reflected in Steemit's future, particularly on a competitive playing field.

I believe with the next fork things will be more fair for all.

I hope that the rewards for providing content that is upvoted are made less arcane, and more apportioned according to the number of votes, rather than the wealth of the voters. If you believe that wealth is speech, we will disagree on this matter fundamentally. I have tried to point out why this is not so, and will leave it at that for now.

I also point out that people do sacrifice their lives to save others. This is not done for social capital, but out of love. You seem to be skeptical that people do things for reasons other than self interest.

I know that they do them even when it will harm them.

I know you are not convinced by my words, and have not been convinced before now, but I think you might want to research animals that rescue people, and other animals. There is an altruistic principal that is not entirely explained by seeking social capital, or any other self interest.

Some people are nice. I hope you are never in need of kindness, but that, if you ever are, you find out this is true.

Thanks for your thoughtful reply!

If you believe that wealth is speech, we will disagree on this matter fundamentally. I have tried to point out why this is not so, and will leave it at that for now.

What owes to be and what we would like something to be are two different things. Wealth and reputation go hand in hand. Monetary rewards are in a way a form of societal value. No matter how we like to romanticize the concept if "equality" it is what it is.

I also point out that people do sacrifice their lives to save others. This is not done for social capital, but out of love. You seem to be skeptical that people do things for reasons other than self interest.

Instinct. For example someone will go and save someone from drowning if they know good swimming. Even a mother seeing her child being in a burning building won't be able to go in the flames if she feels that is futile. The "hero" that might die in these situations doesn't evaluate the situation properly.

I know you are not convinced by my words, and have not been convinced before now, but I think you might want to research animals that rescue people, and other animals.

Animals work on the concept of "reciprocal altruism". Google the term.

Some people are nice. I hope you are never in need of kindness, but that, if you ever are, you find out this is true.

We are nice given the right circumstances.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment once again.

I agree with your answers but have you ever wonder why people do what they do? I know it's a moot point but it's mind boggling.

Because we crave meaning in life and fear our own death

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62