Is this Steemit's last gasp for air???

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Has anyone else notice how unreliable Steemit has been lately? Just earlier today I spent 2 hours writing and editing a great post and when it came time to hit the "post" button it just went POOOOF!

I mean the lagging problem has lasted for at least a couple of weeks now and is sporadic. Frequently I would be signed out of my account. I am not sure if steemit will survive this as more people are losing confidence and powering down to cashing out. Not to mention the many other issues that steemit has with whales self voting and the payout algorithms. Honestly, other than the post that disappeared on me I have not been putting much effort into making a post. The "payouts" I get from a article I spent an hour on and an article I spent 5 minutes on is the same and in some cases the 5 min post might end up making more.


source: https://www.google.com/search?biw=1366&bih=653&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=steemit+fail&oq=steemit+fail&gs_l=psy-ab.3..0i24k1.191235.191555.0.191759.4.4.0.0.0.0.120.399.2j2.4.0....0...1.1.64.psy-ab..0.4.395...0.0.wt01AN3Z6t8#imgrc=HO3sxDfOoQFn5M:

I hate to sound superficial and materialistic here but the core success factor of steemit has to do with its payouts to the authors but if this is compromised then the rest is history.

So honestly I am not sure where steemit is going to end up but I have a feeling it's not going to be positive especially with it being under attacked by hackers in addition to its already existed problems.

Please share your thoughts on this matter and let us know where you think steemit platform is going?

My opinion is that if a system is unreliable and has multiple issues will not last very long. It will lose user's trust and eventually die off....and whales are helping with this dying process by voting for each other and self voting.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Yeah, the circle jerk really needs to stop! Thanks for saying this.

Congratulations @themevlog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Since we are still in beta, I like to think of these bumps in the road as growing pains. If you are getting frustrated, take a short break.

A censorship free site will always attract a lot of negative attention and hackers. That is a good thing, imho!

The self-voting issue has been discussed a lot. The pro argument is that investors should be allowed to reap the benefits from their investment.

There is enough to go around! There are various ways to promote your own posts, so that you can cash in also.

The bottom line though is that we all need to produce high quality posts to insure the long run viability of our revolutionary platform.

Just my 2 satoshis! :)

Quality post can be subjective, and minnows are at the mercies of the whales and dolphins.

Oh, definitely subjective! Maybe we will both get a nice fat whale vote! :)


This post was randomly resteemed by @funaddaa!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 3700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

Your observations are true, but I think this is one of the hard times steemit must oass

Your observations are true, but I think this is one of the hard times steemit must pass through before it can grow. Yes many may cash out now but the real people who are here not because of their immediate gains will stay. On whales issue, I believe steemit will look into it soon

I hope u are right

Of course, now that everyone has written a similar post, the site is working better.

The good news is, if you the coin, you can buy Steem really cheap and then hope that SMT turns Steem into the next Etherum and shoots the price to $10 or more in about 6-10 months.

Was STEEM Born to Die?

I guess it's possible that steem can shoot up to $10 but not probable in my humble opinion.

In the year 20, it might. That's when the Rewards Pool fills at its lowest level.

I've gotten into the habit of doing my composing in a text editor, and formatting image-heavy posts with wordpress. Hosting images on my own server leaves me feeling a lot more confident, as well.

excellent idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72