Steemit problems

in #steemit7 years ago

While I am interested by the idea of this site and think it is cool, I hope that once steemit leaves its "beta" phase some of the interface is sorted out. Some of the problems I have with it is that finding the right kind of content is difficult and that there is an incredibly large amount of low effort or stolen content. Because of this, a lot of the original and quality content is drowned out. This makes it difficult to get any engagement as a new user and the extrinsic motivator of possible money rewards only makes it more alluring to new users to instead post a lot of low effort content, rather than focus on content, that takes more time and which may be then lost in the stream of posts.

I like the approach sites like reddit have taken, wherein different parts of the site have different curators who make sure that the content posted there is relevant and fitting. Right now the atmosphere on steemit is a little bit too "group huggy", wherein people are incentivized to just upvote everything and not flag or report content that is irrelevant or just spam. I feel a systems with none or low content curation works if there is no money rewards to be gained as then the motivators to engage in said community are, for the most part, intrinsic. This could also be because of the growing pains of the site, but I think there are always going to be people chasing pennies. I would suggest that some kind of a group system are implemented on the site to allow people with similar interests to engage with each other. This would help people to find a place to upload their content, find content they like and also curate the content in the groups themselves.

Also, considering the large community of artists present on steemit, I hope that we will get better image implementation on the site, as right now the images that are attached to posts are woefully small. I would propose that the person uploading the image are given a choice to make the image larger.

These are only a few of my 2 cents on this site,

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

"As I often see in a steemit - great art is usually followed by empty pocket... told me @aurumuv, and you right, this is one of the problems in this site

Yes, it is unfortunate! Most unfortunate is that I can't find the people who would like my art or people whose art I would like other than through pure chance by stumbling onto them. The tags help a tiny bit, I suppose, but most everyone use the most general tags because they are the most popular, so finding what you want is hard. I don't think many people browse the new posts either, which makes standing out as a new user that much more difficult. Engaging through comments would be a good way to stand out, but it is hard to do so when I can't find the content I like and would like to comment on, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40