Open Forum: Net Neutrality

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm going to make this a rather quick post because I have homework to do.

This is a new style of post that I am trying, called Open Forum. I will pose a question or idea, and I want to see as many ideas on the topic as possible. The point is to start civil dialogue among fellow Steemians. If you want to see more, show some support and I'll keep making these!

Today the FCC voted to repeal the regulations on Net Neutrality imposed by the Obama administration. To my knowledge, this bill no longer restricts Internet to the title "utility" which, among other things, grants service providers the ability to charge a customer differently based on that customer's usage.

I'd like to welcome anyone into the comments to answer the following: how will this legislation, if it passes Congress, affect the average consumer? How will it affect both large and small Internet-based companies? Feel free to share your ideas below, and respond to others. I'd love to see some civil discussion go down in my comments section!

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.20% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

My biggest concern is the bills effect on the "democratic" state of the internet. If I'm not mistaken, the bill enables ISPs to control data flow depending on it's source, effectively allowing them to regulate content more or less at a whim. This means that large corporations will inevitably gain an edge over smaller competitors, destroying the economic equality that the internet once provided, but sadly no longer will

Your information is similar to what I've heard, and your concern is very valid. I am personally worried about the possibility to restrict the flow of information. I see it as blatantly unconstitutional if an entity, public or private, can block access to an information source simply because they don't agree with that opinion.

Congratulations @themasonjar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49