How could I be so STEWPID !!

in #steemit7 years ago

So the other morning before work I decided to transfer Steem and SBD's to my Bittrex account as I wanted to invest in some IOC tokens.

I merrily did what I had to do .... clicked submit, confirmed and headed off to the office.


Image Credit

Later on I had a check in my Bittrex wallet.... no Steem....no Steem Dollars. Checked my Steemit wallet...definitely gone from there. On closer inspection my height of idiocy became clear .... I had not put the Bittrex wallet address in the 'memo' field.

3 days ago Transfer 70.386 SBD to bittrex bittrex

3 days ago Transfer 479.010 STEEM to bittrex bittrex

Spot the deliberate mistake....NOT!!

My question, what happened to those Steem... they clearly did not go to a wallet ANYWHERE as there was NO ADDRESS provided ... and why is there no 'Invalid Wallet Address / Memo' error checking when transferring. It checks that there is indeed something in the memo field...leave it blank and it complains.

Comments? besides the obvious '@themagus is a dunce' ones. {sob}

Sort:  

Lodge a ticket with @bittrex. Amounts and times plus your Steemit name. Should be able to match it up. Good luck.

Thanks @Stephen-somers ..... definitely worth a try !! I thought it would just stay in Steemit as it had no destination. I was obviously wrong but will definitely take your advice...{clicks 'upvote' and gives the man a tip}

The Steemit account name is the destination but the memo is like the routing or transaction number that allows @Bittrex to put it in the correct account at their end . It'll just be sitting in Bittrexs wallet waiting.
I'm sure you'll get it back.

Thanks buds.... will let you know if that happens.

good to know.. I still need to set up an account.

Sorry to hear about your bad luck, it can happen to anyone. It is so easy to make a mistake. Hope you manage to sort it out. Maybe you can do a post on bittrex sometime, unless of course you have and I just haven't seen it.

Hi there friend .... you well? Nope I have not yet done a post on Bittrex. I am going to try and put some music to my Rhodes Memorial video tonight and hopefully will publish it soon. Is a big learning curve for me.

Good luck my friend. I have to learn more from you. Good luck @themagus

OMG I know right.. So annoying :D I really think they could make the system more user friendly.

about a week about I transfered about 65 Steem to Bittrex, but accidentally used my SBD address... Wonder where that Steem is now :D

I was just sitting staring at my screen, thinking how many pizza I could've even bought with that R1000, but now it's gone :(

The tough lessons of life hey :D

Still doesn't come close to like $600 value though.. Just imagine how many pizza's you just lost! Let's just put it in perspective real quick.. A large pizza from Roman's cost about $5 -_-

And now one cannot transfer.... it keeps complaining one needs a memo. I put the memo nut the submit button stays grayed out...grrrrrr

Mmmmm.. Maybe try sending the amount you want to withdraw to me, and I will try. If you trust me of course :)

6402173d9703412ba24 ....... that is my Steem wallet on Bittrex. I will send you 10 Steem and see if you can transfer to that wallet

Done :) Let me know.

By the way, I made my latest milestone post a few hours ago :)

Steem is there... I think I found the problem. It does not like mouse 'right click and paste' for the wallet address (or even your user name) .... If I use Ctrl - V it completes the fields correctly.

I saw your post ... Hectic. In fact I sent you some Chat messages.

Okay sweet so you all good now? :) Glad it worked out!

That's an interesting reason for the error LOL.

In fact I sent you some Chat messages.

Oh serious? My chat legit has over 50+ unread messages.. SO MUCH happening haha. Will go check it out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99