You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Steemit Psychology: The Freedom to Give & Magical Imaginary Money

in #steemit7 years ago

As a fellow Steemian who hadn't contacted crypto until around when I joined Steemit, I do have a perceived difference between fiat and crypto.
Somewhat similar to yourself in which when I'm choosing to buy something with Real Money, it's a decision which is well-thought out.(at times at least)
Yet with Steem or SBD, I'm even more reticent to spend it, due to looking forward into the future and spying that possibility of it being worth dramatically more than it is now.

I do have an easy time upvoting those whose posts I find enjoyable, yet this may also be because my upvote has such a minimal impact on both them and the reward pool distribution.
It not costing me a thing other than voting power doesn't hurt either!

You could say I value my crypto both more and less than the Fiat in my possession.

I'm able to support myself at the moment with my day-job, thus I think of my Steem as an investment for the future and don't plan on touching it unless desperate, or things are looking grim.

Thank you for your words

Sort:  

That's actually interesting, that you prefer to spend fiat over steem because you have faith in its future value. Never considered it like that. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69