Really confused about steem power.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello there fellow steemians!

So I've read through dozens of articles now about the topic but I've still not come across anyone clearly explain the two sets of numbers I have in steem power.

607.968 STEEM
(+27.552 STEEM)

Its the number in brackets which confuses me. I made a deposit onto my account to try and increase the steem power. So the top number - 607.968 rose. However the number in brackets rose only by a few decimal points.

Would anyone be able to explain these numbers to me a little better?

Thanks a bunch!

Sort:  

Hello there, the number in the bracket is what people delegate their power to you, so they can take it back or give you more. Steem power is a illiquid form of steem, the more power you have basically mean the higher your each upvote would worth. Hope this helps.

Thank you for the quick reply! Just trying to get clear, the number in the bracket would raise my voting power as well?

yes it does, it works the same as your own steem power :)

When I started my account I began with the same amount of Steem power in brackets as you have shown in your question.

I believe it was a decision made to allow new users to vote and actually impact the reward given to a post. When I began I was able to give $0.01 each time I voted. I suppose it makes you feel like you're actually achieving something by upvoting.

The power comes from another account as delegated Steem power. You can choose to delegate your Steem power to whoever you like.

Technically I guess it's possible to have a delegated power 'whale' if enough people delegate to one user!

Someone has given you some of their power so that your votes will be worth more. It is to help us minnows grow faster and not be discouraged when starting out

Thanks, I think I finally get it! xD

Great question! I didn't know the answer myself until I read your article and the comments 👍🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60723.46
ETH 3353.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51