Account stolen, level downgraded from 25 to 5, please advice

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemers,

I can't figure how (edit: I figured it out since), but my account was stolen about one week ago. I figured out something happened because suddenly my password did not worked anymore.

Now, that I managed to recover the account I found my level downgraded from 25 to 5. Also, 2 posts repeated which seems to have shady links in my history. The titles of the posts are:

  • The world will witness the fall of some digital currencies
  • New Glitch in Steemit

Now, I ask for the advice of advanced users:

  1. What might have happened since as far as I know my computer is not compromised. How come the hacker got my account?
  2. Now that my level is 5, how will this affect me on Steemit?
  3. Is there any way to protect myself from this kind of attacks in the future?

Any advice is welcome!

Sort:  
Loading...

Advice: Leave This You Have Nothing To Lose Create A New One...Because You Are On Blacklist Of Many People...

Ask @patrice to unban you via cheetahbot after you clean out the bad posts' content. You likely did what several people did (including me), which was log in to a false login page with your credentials. The login page looked exactly like Steemit's but was generated by clicking on a malicious link in a post.

From now on, you can monitor all of your account's activity by going to steemd.com/@yourusername. I did this to monitor what the ID thief was doing and respond to admins ahead of the curve.

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 1 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Great! Thank you!

You did a great job cleaning up the account. I've taken away all the flags that were mine and will resteem to help you get back on your feet.

Thank you very much!

Owned. May be easier to start a new account.

True. But it was more fun to try and get this one back ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58799.78
ETH 3205.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29