Introduction To Voting And Commenting On Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

How to vote, how many votes per day, and best commenting practices on steemit.

I am making a video series for my YouTube viewers who are now starting to join the steemit community. Many of the things I discuss are also valid for other beginner steemit members.

When you vote, you are telling someone that you approve of their article or comment and want to give them credit. A vote can increase someone's reputation and/or earnings.

But you can only vote so many times per day before your vote loses its power. Your voting power recharges at just under 1 percent per hour. You can vote about 10 times per day at 100% voting power and then your voting influence is reduced. The more you vote after that, the less voting power you have.

It is best to keep your voting down to about 10 per day then. If you vote about 20 times, then you will need about 24 hours to fully recharge.

This eliminates abuse to some extent. I have seen some people vote 50 times in a row but after the first 10 - 20 votes, their influence is drained so low that they no longer have any effect.

When you vote, you can check that it went through by clicking on the down arrow next to the vote count. All the names of everyone who voted will show up in the list.

Your voting power also has another important role on the steemit site. The higher your voting power, the more money your vote is equal to. Also the more steem power you have, the more powerful your vote and the more monetary value it has. (We will get into steem power and steem dollars in another article soon).

You can look at any account on www.steemd.com with their username and see what they do each day. Everything is open for everyone to see. You can check my current voting power and activities on steemit here:

https://steemd.com/@thediyworld

On the top left side of the screen you can see my voting weight and my voting power. The voting weight comes from steem power. The voting power is what drains each time you vote. You can keep an eye on your voting power by looking at your own account. Simply replace your user name on the link above.

You can also see all activity on your account and blog. Anyone who comments or votes on your writings will be shown here. I keep the steemd window open at all times on my computer and refresh it after every activity to see my stats.

When you comment, the best is to reply directly to the article itself unless you are answering someone in a thread that has already formed.

For my YouTube viewers this is very important so I can see your comments and vote them higher. This is important because my site is flooded with trolls who followed me from YouTube. I am hoping to flood my articles with good comments and drive the bad ones down lower on the page.

And this brings me to down votes. This should not be abused and it also drains your voting power. You can flag a post that you see as vulgar or otherwise not suitable for all audiences. Harassment is a big one from my trolls. You will see a lot of grayed out comments on my blog posts due to my hiding them.

The more steem power you have, the more ability you have to gray out nasty comments.

I would advise my YouTube viewers NOT to down vote anyone though. Save your votes for people who you think deserve your upvote. I will take care of the nasties.

And please get out there on the community and browse articles. Vote on those which you feel deserve it.

Have fun.

Please watch the video I made with more details:

Sort:  

Good work promoting steemit. Your efforts have won you 100 whaleshare. please do check out the winning announcement post
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@paulag/youtube-steemit-ambassador-winner-2-and-week-3-details

Good luck over here on steemit. I don't see how they make money, so I have to wonder if the money they are rewarding everyone with is real. I guess time will tell. Let us know when you make your first withdrawal so we can all know if it's for real or not.

Thank you. I do plan to show a withdrawal on video very soon.

Hey Trog, its a shame the father of Ming Mings, baby didn't make a withdrawal on the night of Mings passion.
We all worry about that poor child especially after yesterdays video!

With Trogs scruffy unshaven appearance he looks more like a perverted paedophile everyday.
Its one thing illegally hording TJ but to broadcast over the Internet only an AssHole would do, but sorry I forget he is the worlds biggest.

Now that trog has a kid he might regret dragging sex offenders to his home. Wonder if Ming Ting knows how trog feels about sex offenders?

troy's blog resembles a snake oil salesman of years past. He makes it blatantly clear he needs his flock to bail him out for financial gain but tells them to only upvote him. $$$$$$$$ Yep folks a pretty one sided tactic that he hopes no one can see his true tactic. He is now between a rock and a hard place with borrowing steem power to down vote and grey out comments. As a businessman he SUCKS

Thank you for explaining how this works.

interesting stuff, I didn't know this! Thanks :)

Happy that I can help some people.

I am working on a whole series on how to use steemit so stay tuned.

Nice tutorial! Keep up the great work :) Resteemed!

You're having a hard time coming up with content, aren't you Troy? Is this because you're lazy or because you really aren't homesteading anymore? Probably both. No gathering of eggs? Did you lie about your chickens laying eggs too? No cutting wood? No adding plastic to your greenhouse? No insulation for your poor chickens in the chicken coop? No preparations for your spring garden? No compost making videos? No videos of your muzzleloader? You're not a homesteader any more, Troy. You're an Internet addict. I pray for the well being of your wife and child.

@martingardner, History has shown Reid was never a homesteader.
He exploited props and tag words connected to off grid living and homesteading.
Having chickens and a garden doesn't NOT make a homesteader.

Most of us that have attempted to help him in the past,
only to be stabbed in the back by him,
do have experience in most every aspect Reid portrays,
and we know he's a fraud.

That's why he makes excuses or blame for everything that happens,
or doesn't.

This shows his inability to be responsible and truthful.

We know he was focused on growing food all year,
even though he Failed 3 times,
he REFUSES to take advice,
a baby arrived, 3 weeks of deer hunting (but is scared to say the word d-e-e-r or show anything) ,
incomplete solar system,
now freezing temps,
and he's still playing on the computer day and night.

Of course he's not a homesteader.

@watertower....................The Do It Yourself World14 hours ago
I work and keep going. Steemit is a very profitable place. Its hit or miss on there.

He actually does nothing a lot of us do. Chickens, garden, firewood, and go to work 40 hours a week to get a reliable salary and retirement and money for the extras like snow mobiles, boats, motorhomes and eat at nice restaurants when we desire. Wait, scratch the part about he works 40 hours a week and the part about a reliable salary and all the other things. He only survives through the kindness of strangers and then old pop came out of retirement to be able to support trogs growing family.

@martingardener..............The Do It Yourself World5 hours ago
blueskies - well they have left me with no other alternative anymore but to drive on and keep trying to make a living online. My viewers have made it clear they do not want to know the details so lets leave it at that. The internet is my last stand in life.
Reply 1
The Do It Yourself World
The Do It Yourself World5 hours ago
Dork - look at bitcoin. I wish I had kept those piddling little worthless things many years ago.

Its an investment. And I will start cashing out one day. It takes time to build up an internet presence. I am new there. When I hit a couple thousand followers things will be looking good.

Did you see all the piles of crap he has already hauled in? He said when he moved there NO tents and piles of junk but he filmed his Junkyard 2.0 and he has tents again and crap. His neighbors must be freaking out. Property values in that area are in the toilet and now they live by a dump.

Hi Troy,,
Thanx for that introduction. But I'd like to know how to build up steam power,, could you see what I am doing wrong ?? :-)

Whoah there. Slow down. I need to make another video. Only 4 posts per day max. After that all your earnings are divided among the posts. And it looks spammy to the community if you post too much.

Write a good, detailed video description of each video. NEVER copy and paste from another site. Remember, more is better. The more you write, the better it looks if you write good content.

I would advise actually deleting all but four of your posts right now and release them slowly. You can only delete those with no interaction on them yet.

Besides, an article only earns money in the first 7 days. After that there is little value left.

So spread them out through time.

Soon I will share how to get your article noticed better.

It also helps to open multiple steemit accts so you can downvote other's work and upvote your own. He has 4 accts and planning on opening several more using his wife's info.

Troy Reid, the only person in the world that would sell amunitions to an 'enemy' in order that they may fire back at him. You make it too easy! You are the author of your own misfortune.

Start writing your obituary. That would make a good 'Reid'. See the humour? And better still search engine optimization.

Ohh Okay,, I do not think I want to bother deleting the stuff again,, just upload slower,, I am just going to be copying my old videos in one at a time. I am not as good at writing an assay as you,, you write way to much :-)
Humm 7 days,, is not long,, I have old videos,, that suddenly explode and makes me $100 on YouTube,, that is always fun.

So t-liar the greatest snake oil salesman on earth of the 21st century is going to abandon his 102k purchased YouTube Subs and have a go on steemit at conning the less fortunate and the elderly. Good luck with that asshole. I am watching your every move on the internet you liar. Get a Job you shiftless Bum.

bet you dont have a job either, seems if your watching troy all day, your doing nothing else

WHY IN THE BLOODY FUCKING HELL OF ALL THAT IS UNHOLY WITH YOU DID YOU NOT COPY AND PASTE YOUR TROLL WARNING ON TO THIS RAGGEDY ASS TWO BIT PIECE OF FUCKING SHIT POST ??????????

you make about as much sense as a two year old

troy how many free accounts are we allowed per member? I have heard that the DIY World guy has 4. Is this legal on steemit or can we just do what we want and tell everyone else to go to hell?

if you worked a job, you'd have no time to harass and threaten Troy. I'm taking notes on you all and when Troy goes to court against you, I will come as a witness. Don't know if you remember me, but you threatened my life on Youtube, and I reported you to the police. I remember you saying you would take me out and do away with my kids and my family. I have a copy of it and am willing to share it with the people on here so that they know what kind of person you are.

please share it! right here as i would LOVE to see your fake evidence... bet you don't share it...

he sounds like troy with a new acct just for trolling. You can spot a loser a mile away and he uses all troys keywords for pity.

@troyreidelies............. no MICHEAL is known as ..............MrCrf450rider......... on you tube ..

@michealrock747 i do not believe you , prove it post the copy of the you tube comment , a screen shot will suffice , that will be the only way for it to be believeable

@michaelrock747, "kids and my family" for the sake of everything living i hope you have not reproduced in any way. That includes sheep, goats, liver, knots holes in dead trees etc.

@michealrock747................ since you are taking notes on us ............ i prefer to be kissed on the asshole and not on the ass

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33