Helping STEEM Go MainstreamsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

 

I recently read a well written article by @papa-pepper about the price of Steem.  That got me thinking about other ideas to get the platform into the mainstream. Steem has been making improvements to this platform and at some point, more marketing will be needed.  

I was thinking of a program that would give a Steemit user 20 Steem (or whatever reasonable amount)  for signing up a new steem user. I would be willing to give up a small percentage of my curating rewards to contribute to the reward pool.  I am not sure where else the reward steem would come from. Would you all consider this or is it a bad idea.  Any thoughts?

Sort:  

Steemit gives new users $6 when they sign up. New Steem is also constantly being created. I like where you're going with this, but we should educate newbies about writing good content so they can earn steem power in the beginning. We're still in the first year so I think anyone still has a pretty good shot at becoming a whale one day. We have been on facebook since 2004, 2007 for me. Ten years. Where will your account be in 2027?

The steem given when you start is nice! I just feel we should take this a step further. Many old school writers may not have used social media up to this point and I agree that more needs to be done to help new users adapt to the future of social media.

There is a 6 dollar incentive program but I don't know how tangible that is for attracting new people. To be honest most people haven't bought into digital currency and they see it as monopoly money.

For new users
I honestly think feedback to a well written post, votes or recognition for your posts would be more of an incentive for new people.

For existing users
In order to incentivise existing users to get friends involved it might be better to pay them the 6 dollars or as doitvoluntary1 said a percentage of the daily pool.

they will be making an ios/android app for steem this year i think that will really help with it going mainstream

For sure.. So many things happening in the near future. I am stocking up on my Steem as I believe in Steemit and its potential.

Have you tried the android app esteem?

The last post that I saw from @noganoo had some good thoughts about his as well, and ways to prevent abusing an incentive program.

GOOD THINKING!

I missed that. I will check it out. Thanks for your input.

@berniesanders is powering down and selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52