Steemit should become the social media juggernaut and bake all of their features in. (details inside)

in #steemit8 years ago

Why would people have any reason to use Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter or anything else if Steemit just made "Steemier" versions of the main selling points of each website, into a feature of Steemit.com? There is room for more than just upvoting articles around here! Status updates, Photos, Videos, Custom Profiles & so on!

A Steem Profile of your very own. Full of editable fields, areas for pictures to be posted, etc.

I can see it now, my very own Steemit.com profile with loads of information about me, a few featured posts that I chose to add, perhaps a custom theme or something along those lines for the header area, and best of all, my very own Avatar/profile picture! That sounds like a platform I once used in the past cough Myspace cough but it sounds like the best platform to build on top of a wonderful Blockchain such as this.


A Historical Steem "Facebook Wall" (after followers get implemented obviously).

Everyone has the countless family members who "don't use social media" but still have a Facebook account where they occasionally login and post an update about themselves or whatever else and they might scroll through the news feed for a moment but thats about it. If we want these folks to be included in the Steemit future, we should consider this now and just add a personalized feed for them and as a way to compliment having a "news feed" of sorts in the form of a blog for them already.


A Steem "short-feed" where people can post 300 or so character posts as mini status updates as opposed to articles.

We could take a shot at Twitter and get people paid for their short newsworthy content, thus creating the de-facto place to share news as it's happening, and get paid at the same time! Imagine how many reporters would come here first with their breaking news instead of go to local news stations if we had this system...


Your Very own Steem Photo Gallery!

A basic addition to the "custom profile" thing, basically just store some settings and/html in the Blockchain just as you would for a post, but pull from that specific post for profile settings and such, using this you could literally host full image libraries and create a Steemit Photo Gallery! The Blockchain might bulk with this feature a bit, but its just more text at the end of the day.. still no photos hosted on Steemit or the chain..


And last but not least, a Steemit version of a sort of p-2-p photo messaging platform, most likely a 3rd party thing though.. images and all.

All of these features could simply add in the awesomeness that is the Steemit Upvote and create a whole new dynamic overnight. Literally take out any reason for anyone to use these websites ever again..

Sort:  

Aha...sure... I think so.

I'm hoping that the beta users lay the groundwork for a cohesive yet diverse community that encourages both excellent content and doesn't forget about free speech. That way new users will get a good feel for the community as they join.

I'm sure we will see lots of features coming to Steemit in the near future. The Steemit profile and a build in Steemit Chat would make it to a real social network. I just hit the button to follow you. Wanna see, if you will bring the SnoopDog to Steemit.

Hahah thanks for the reminder!

I love thinking about Steem, and several of the ideas behind Steem being applied to as many situations as possible. I think Steem has, at least the first big part of, the solution to the problem of bringing back the value of our attention to ourselves. Companies like Facebook and Twitter are pretty good at harvesting the value of our attention for themselves. But I'm still stuck at how Steem can pull value from outside, either for itself or for it's users. I get the transaction fees, and I get new investments, but those alone don't seem to get me over the hump. Facebook is worth over $100 Billion because what it can bring to parties willing to pay.

I feel like I'm missing something in the equation.

you are absolutely right and it will be...

We'll have to wait and see what happens, but hopefully we start to see changes that result in natural growth and migration of users over to Steemit for reasons other than just to earn cryptocurrency.

I wholeheartedly agree with this. These are great features to hope for!

I believe @Dantheman and @Ned understand this as well :D

I don't doubt it! Wonder if they need a tester.... :)

Very good ideas and I'm sure those and many more will be implemented/integrated over time.

At this stage I assume that more functionality is not necessarily a priority as we just went through the bot attack stage and now we have the affiliate program/referral system and many other discussions going on as well ;-)

I wonder how many people can actually keep up with all the dynamics even right now ;-)

excellent ideal! steemit will soon surpass facebook, twitter, etc!

I literally love these suggestions, see it's funny, I'm totally sitting here like a little kid waiting for the next update to be released lol. But these all sound awesome, I'd really like to have my own little profile, and why not take a crack at Twitter and Facebook, why would someone use different sites when their profile at steemit can work in all three settings and get paid for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33