You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Big Steem Clusterf@ck + Problems Changing the Master Key

in #steemit5 years ago

Just a thought for you, if that ever happens again feel free to transfer all your liquid steem and SBD to me until you get it fixed. Or to PIFC, either way I can at least keep your liquid funds safe for you.

Now something I do with my keys to avoid stuff like this, BUT it does cause more work repeatedly. I only most of the key in a place I can cut and paste, the rest I have to type in each time. This way if I do what you did, or someone somehow gets access to my computer they wouldn't ever have all of the key. They wouldn't know where to add the characters that are missing either as it's not the start or the end making it much harder to work backwards.

Sort:  

Ah, don't worry. I have another account and I did just that. First I transferred the STEEM + SBD to @trincowski-pt and got them back after changing the password. 😉

I forgot about your second account. That at least gave you an option to protect the thing they go after first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68383.66
ETH 2646.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72