You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick Tip #3: Always Use Your PRIVATE POSTING KEY To Log In!!

in #steemit6 years ago

The switch in URL is something that is very common and been used for almost as long as the internet has been around. I am amazed that these scams still work, but then I remember that not everyone has been dealing with them for years.

My rule of thumb is if I need to log into an account to retrieve a message or whatever reason I was sent there I go to my bookmarked login page to avoid bad links. You will run into scams trying to get into your Amazon account, ebay account, bank accounts, and so forth. They all rely on you following their link and not going directly to the site.

Sometimes it takes an extra couple seconds to do it the long way, but my accounts are safe.

Sort:  

I’ve been avoiding these things for years. Being limited to using my phone made me unexperienced again. But that shouldn’t be an excuse.
On my laptop, I also use the bookmark thing. And I learned to check for signs. Like for example Paypal will always start their emails with your name, not with ‘Dear customer’ or something like that...

I like to think I learned my lesson, I don’t check URL three times but 5 times. And when I’m asked to log in, I switch to my tablet, just to have a better view...

Mobil makes you a little more vulnerable for sure and yes it's a learning curve all over again. I used to do SEO and dealt with many black hat people who used to utilize links to do all sorts of things. Once I learned their shady tactics I learned that links just can't be trusted. It's actually probably safer today then it was 10 years ago as browsers are more secure, but still it's always a risk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60677.93
ETH 3360.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50