You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit developer curation experiments, brace yourselfs, major changes are coming

in #steemit8 years ago

Some great points. I think the problem with bots is how do you stop them? I don't think anyone has come up with a good solution yet.

I like the idea of continuing to experiment - Steemit is still a beta and very much in it's infancy so now is the time to test ideas out and fix things.

It will be a lot harder if it gets to the size of Twitter or Facebook.

I've also been actively trying to look at more "NEW" posts too. I think that is a good strategy for finding different types of content.

I've also noticed there seems to have been a drop in the amount of truly new posts compared to a few weeks ago.

Sort:  

Only need to stop the bots of steem power holders with more than 100 MV (less than 200 accounts), they can go thru extra steps to curate, steps that are only humanly possible. Another way to stop bots from curating is to implement penalties for using a bot

You mean like some kind of captcha? I don't know enough about how voting via the CLI wallet works to know if that is viable. It could be done via the GUI/web interface but their is no point if CLI voting will allow it to be bypassed. If it is viable they should do it or at very least test it.

I fear the other issue that may prevent it is do the Steemit team really want to restrict the whales in this way? It is unlikely to be popular with the people that use bots and I am not sure if the will is there to go against their wishes.

I hope they listen to what your are saying but I won't be surprised if the bot situation continues on as before.

It's a shame because we are already seeing a kind of stagnation of content occurring (as you describe in the video).

In this video I said to remove fear from the equation. Steemit progress is hindered by being afraid of how users or investors will react to experimental changes. The money is on the blockchain, nobody can get it out, the developers have all the power, so there is nothing for them to fear. The investors and users will adapt to the changes, and I think they will enjoy the challenges.. makes everything more interesting.

Yes I agree with you I hope they start experimenting in that way because without new user retention this project will not be able to succeed in the long term.

Increasing the cost of curation for big investors runs counter to those amongst the whales who don't bot-vote. You cant have it both ways, unfortunately. I think that ultimately the decision will be made to scrap curation rewards altogether.

End curation rewards. No method to stop bot-voting by robo-whales or diminish its impact will not also mess with the entire human-voting business. Not to mention it is contrary to decentralisation to place such a big and centralised reward on doing something that really adds no value to the ecosystem, in fact, it incentivises the plundering of the market capitalisation, and this leads to investors shying away.

But they WANT bots to curate. Not sure I agree with that, but @dantheman has stated he wants to see advanced ai bots doing the curation so I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for him to try and stop bots.

yes, I know what dan has stated, but there are many different paths to success, experimenting with as many of them as possible is best

Dan is going to be proven wrong, because this is the big flaw that is obstructing the flow of investment funds into the Steem Ocean. Or perhaps as yet it is more of a lake, that has got Nestle-flavoured robo-bots sucking it out at everyone else's expense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41