Sort:  

I agree with @smooth's actions (thus far) but believe that @smooth needs to provide a way for Mark to get back onto the site (also, did you unhide comments and read Mark's reply to @smooth?). This post was written after a low reputation account flagged his post with no explanation. I'm sure that Mark will be able to negotiate with @smooth to get his (@smooth's) flag removed (by editing or blanking the current version of the post with a message as to why) -- but doing so still leaves him at -2 (though, hopefully then, @smooth might be willing to indulge in some reputation repair since Mark is clearly a pro-community fanatic).

Actually, I take my statement about agreeing with @smooth's actions (thus far) back. Having both @smooth and @smooth.witness flag a newbie account is abuse. That account is probably unrecoverable now -- and it is NOT as clear a violation as @smooth thinks it is.

The smooth.witness account copies the votes from the smooth account. I could undo that manually but it adds about 15% of the vote weight of my primary account, so it isn't a big difference either way.

I will also be flagging this post for the same reason.

I'm open to upvoting to remove the bad reputation on any of these accounts but they will need to make a separate post or comment for that purpose, since changing votes does not change rep.

I'm not a fan of the reputation system generally and I have commented on the problems with it. However, I'm also not a fan of buying votes and the only recourse I have against what I (and many other large stakeholders) see as a serious form of abuse is downvoting the post. Unfortunately that automatically affects the reputation as well.

OK. I know that both Mark and I are amenable to whatever reputation repair is necessary. Both of us stumbled by violating community taboos that we were unaware of and have absolutely no intentions of repeating such actions (and are more than willing to apologize for our mistakes). A newbies guide that outlines such taboos would be very helpful (as I understand it, my offense was to use the same tactic that I saw used by other users that you were attempting to perform reputation repair on -- except that I wasn't the repairee [yet :-( ]) -- and we would be more than willing to participate in creating one (we also have some ideas about a reputation repair tool).

Could you please offer additional clarification and advice as you see fit? Thanks!

I restored the rep on the august-newbie account. (Strange name for an account BTW unless you intend to throw it away. Will you still want that account when you are no longer a newbie?)

As far as a newbie guide, what a splendid idea! Perhaps you would like to write one If you join steemit.chat and ask questions I'm sure some of the more experienced members there would be happy to help you out with the content.

I would also request/suggest that, in the future, a warning rather than a flag would be kinder to a first-time offender. It's ridiculous that 15 flags have been posted on a good and, I would argue, important post because of a stupid unknowing error at the very end.

I agree with you that the reputation system implementation leaves something to be desired especially in terms of newbies, warnings, etc. but as a community we have to work with the code that exists while the developers work to improve it. For now we have to work around the worst of the problems with discussion and by voting up accounts where the negative reputation is excessive.

Hit the depth limit so I am replying to you on your next higher (is that the proper protocol)?

Yes! I do want the account at the end of the month. Is it not possible to change the name on an account? I would have expected warning on the register screen -- but I'm not finding a way in which it can be done (a non-personal initial name was preferred by DW). If it isn't possible, then I want to start a new one immediately (but it won't have the SteemPower that I accumulate through newbie :-( until I power down newbie and transfer it )

I'm sure that I can sell DW on the idea of creating user's guide. I will join SteemIt.chat. Do you have any additional advice?

Thanks!

Keira

Again, hit the depth limit so I am replying to your next higher post. (Is this the correct social protocol?)

OK, so here is our first shot at a section for a newbie-guide. https://steemit.com/steemit/@mark-waser/newbies-guide-to-powering-up

What do you think?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58