Quick Message For @joanaltres

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I don't normally like to call people out like this, but it is bloody annoying.

@joanaltres - STOP SPAMMING everyone's wallet with your pointless fake follower crap. You are killing what little reputation you had.

END OF MESSAGE.

(Facepalm image taken from my Thinkstock Account).

Sort:  

Thank you for writing this. When I read an article about her being the most followed user on this platform with only three original articles, I was wondering when this account will start asking for money to resteem the posts and it happened !! This practice is negative for this platform, I can already see some account following her footsteps ( @khunfarang & @khunpoom) they will comment and follow all newbies post tagged with 'introduce yourself' just to gain followers and haven't contributed ever to the platform. I hope after reading your post, some sense will prevail. :)

You are absolutely right it is bad for the platform. It is sad but it is to be expected that people will try these schemes - the only solution is for people to make it clear that the community is on to them and does not appreciate it.

I think such users be flagged for spam, unfortunately, as you mentioned it cant be done on a note in wallet. I'm new to the platform but did risk to flag the posts of the two mentioned above but then I read about the flagging war going on the platform, it made me wonder if its worth doing it, I would not want to be in a situation where i'm being targeted just to make this platform better. I hope you will understand my point of view here.. :|

Yes certainly it is understandable. I think flagging can be a problem particularly if you are a new user. I generally only give a symbolic 1% flag (which doesn't actually do much harm) and I don't use it often. If the whole community makes it clear that certain behaviours are not good then it should become unnecessary to flag as most people will just stop doing it.

I hope your post will prevail some sense. Everyone reading this should resteem this. Done !! :)

I hope so. I suspect the spam will continue to grow so the earlier we tackle it the better.

If the message in wallet was not enough, check this, they created a website http://resteem.com

Lol well I'd rather not click it as I don't want to risk getting trojans or viruses.

I would not want to be in a situation where i'm being targeted just to make this platform better.

This. This is true and is not okay for the health of Steemit.

Thank you for understanding my hesitations. :)

You are joking right? Spamming a post about spam.

Well thats the thing about spammers, they don't read or care about the post or author of the post. Just trying to further ignorant agenda. hahaha PERFECT proof right here!

ahahahahaha LMAO!!!! Two chances: 1. he's a troll too besides a spammer or 2.(most probable) he didn't read it....

Quite possibly.

Damn that's crazy:) But it happens in all posts about spam I personally wrote and all ones I saw by other authors.

people are weird indeed..haha. Spamming a post about spam

welcome my friend, always and more success.

Hahahha, She is utilizing the 2012 Twitter strategy for useless followers.

It is sort an in interesting play in some respects. I'm just surprised she doesn't post more things herself.

Well if you spam people then you run the risk of getting posts flagged which would kill your rep. Also this kind of strategy is often automated and you can't (yet) automate the posting process in a way that is convincing - not without great risk anyway.

Yeah it is certainly a risk for sure on here.

Hello dear friend, where you had been huh?
I've been miserable these past few days and you yourself are just meeping around.

Yep, I tried this a year or so on Instagram also. Literally just mindlessly following random users, didn't even have any content up. After 4000 follows I got 2500 followers in 2 days.

This is the same except now they are trying to monetize it. I sometimes feel bad for even re-steeming the @ocd posts to my followers cause I know its random content and most probably get annoyed cause they followed me for something else, but at least I'm doing it for free and for the greater good of the platform in mind.

That is funny you got so many followers in 2 days on Instagram using that strategy.

I wouldn't be worried about resteeming the @ocd stuff but one user on here told me that they won't follow someone who resteems a lot of stuff. I was actually surprised to hear that but she was saying that she doesn't want her feed all clogged up. It is tough to manage for sure.

I don't follow re-steemers either. (One, two, or even three resteems okay, if among many good quality posts.)

I miss all your usual posts. Haven't been hardly any lately.

I also noticed his messages 3 times in my wallet.
I ignored because I feel he has done wrong. You simply cannot advertise this followers thing because if the followers are so worthy then he should make 1 post daily and get much more rewards.

Exactly.

She literally screwed up my mind ever time i get that shit memo and stuff. Glad you took the initiative to stop her. Someone had to do it right!!

I'm not convinced she will stop. I doubt she actually ever reads anything on Steemit.

I guess soo. She's only spamming users to make money..

she should read your etiquette lol

Yes and that was written a year ago. Seems things have gotten a lot worse since then.

Good post. I read the interview that Stellabelle did and Joanaltres really came across as some kind of saint. I remember her saying something like she just gets such a great feeling of joy whenever she resteems something because it makes everybody so happy.

How disappointing to see her fishing for money to resteem now. I actually even tried it on one of my posts just to see if it would increase it by a lot and it only got me a few more cents and comments. Then I got a message from an account called steemitabuse saying that all of the followers on the Carlo Belgado account are actually fake accounts anyway so it's sort of a spam bot.

Now I don't know if that message is true or not..... but it's very disappointing to see somebody that considers themselves doing a service from the goodness of their hearts to suddenly decide that money is the way to go.

Now I don't know if that message is true or not..... but it's very disappointing to see somebody that considers themselves doing a service from the goodness of their hearts to suddenly decide that money is the way to go.

Considering that they are spamming to promote the thing I would be inclined to believe it is true.

I can't imagine how much additional bandwith the wallet-spamming is using up. (Isn't that bad for the system overall?) But I suppose there isn't a way around it. I'm wondering about the service though. If the follower list is worth something, shouldn't the advertisement for the service just be posted instead? I don't remember seeing services like rando needing wallet campaigns to let people know of any change in their setup/what they are about.

But I suppose there isn't a way around it.

I don't think so other than asking people to stop doing it.

I'm wondering about the service though. If the follower list is worth something, shouldn't the advertisement for the service just be posted instead?

You would think.

Whats funny is that there was that big article about how she was a saint, not taking money and helping people for the good of Steemit and all.
Now here it is a super spam problem worse than most because it goes to your WALLET and thus you cannot unfollow or flag it!!!
Its the ULTIMATE SPAM!

Yes!

hahahahahahahaha OMG!
Only laughing cause I have found choosing humor over disgust to be a bit more enjoyable ;-)>

I'll take any tenth of a cent people have to give. :)

Then you are part of the problem.

Looks like we have another member of the #waronspam. You should have used the tag for this one. If only that could be made to trend, I think they would finally get the point.. Probably not though.. Lol.

I wasn't aware of it lol! I will add it.

Oh it's not actually thing yet. I just started using it, but I'm sure as fuck gonna try and make it a thing. A couple others said they're working on something that will use the tag too.

Well I added it too:)

This will likely be on the trending page too, so that's gonna raise some awareness of the tag for sure. Maybe this actually possible..

Well I doubt it will get on the trending page but who knows.

Well I was just judging by how well it was doing so far. But, I suppose with so much of the rewards pool now reserved for pay-for-vote-bot purchases, what trends is now really in the hands of a smaller few than ever.

Well might just be better distribution.

If I do post my contest I'll most definitely use the #waronspam.
I look at it as a solidarity thing...and I'm no union man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17