Very early screenshots of a crypto based top down RPG prototype.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


2018-01-18_01-00-08.png2018-01-18_01-08-05.png

So I have decided that its a good idea to begin fleshing out a prototype for a game that is based around cryptocurrency. I have decided to go with something that feels like a Diablo style control scheme. My plans right now are to keep things as simple as possible. This is currently only a prototype to see how it will feel to play the game, Basically, to sell the idea.

One of the main things that has held me back from working on a game that is based around cryptocurrency is figuring out how to make the gameplay not essentially become a giant pay to win fest. Cryptocurrency is amazing in terms of its ability to be integrated into more complex systems like social media or gaming but finding a way to make it so that the game isn't basically a contest to see who can dump the most money into it is a considerable challenge.

I recently had an idea that may actually work to prevent the pay to win scenario. So now I am actually going to try and put my idea to the test.

Unlike with Revulsion this game wont be a solo project. I intend to get a team to work on this one if possible. The potential payoff for pulling off a decent crypto based game is potentially insane. I cannot promise yet but its highly likely that the currency of choice for this game to be based around will be steem or sbd. The current design requires very fast and free transactions so steem and sbd are very likely to be contenders for this project.

With that said, steemit itself is an inspiration on the game as well and the ability to upvote players for their in game activity could be really interesting.

A lot of things are still up in the air right now, but I will be talking about this project more in the days to come. Progress will be relatively slow with this project as I am also currently ramping up for the second episode of my first person shooter game called Revulsion which is currently available to buy and play on steam early access.

http://store.steampowered.com/app/719180/Revulsion/

So I will have my hands quite full on this front. But I will be talking about this as things progress. As always, your upvotes support my work, so if you like what you see and want to see more feel free to make the upvotes flow!

Sort:  

Yay more reasons to say "totes know that guy" and get looked at funny :P

Hey its good to see you on here. :D

What a cool idea! the whole world of game development is so cool to me! Keep up the good work, and I would gladly play a crypto game!

As a non-programmer, I'm wondering if ANY game could be made to integrate with the blockchain or if it has to be specifically made for use on the blockchain? I guess what it is I'm asking is: Can someone take a game made with something like Unity and then add some code to (for instance) use stores to buy gear or resources using SBD as the currency?

Its fairly easy, all that is needed is a way to do transactions with wallets seamlessly with the game engine. Then at that point the game can be made to work with pretty much any kind of currency. As far as making it so the game itself is closely intertwined with the blockchain is another story. But simply finding a decent crypto for fast and cheap transactions would be pretty simple.

Thank-you. That's good to know.

Keep it simple because I want to see a final results, and as an average player ( if I can even call myself one) I would like to have an enjoyable environment and user friendly 'circumstances' ( not getting shot, eaten or blasted away every 30 seconds or so...).

This will the next level which will superseed currencies like Unikrn in which developers don't need to beholden to big contracts to be part of the club.

Would this currency be unique to the developer or would it be a shared token system that any developer can intergrate into their game?

I have found that its easy to make a game that works with any currency you want. Game developers can most likely just piggyback any coin they chose. I would recommend a coin that is fast and cheap for transaction times though. Also, smart contracts are not necessary either.

If the game is created with SBD as a currency it would also likely cause the value to sky rocket pretty hard. Which would be pretty funny.

But yeah, ultimately you can just use any currency. All that matters is if the game is setup correctly to utilize a reward pool properly.

Yeah and no abuse by whales or outside invaders that don't care for the community or pool. Similiar to this place. Needs real planning so it's fair as well as levels of gameplay skill for the actual reward.

Maybe I can help you. I am more familiar with Unity but I can also 3D modeling.
Hit me up if you need any help :)

Diablo style you say? Colour me intrigued. Following to see developments and looking forward to what comes of this. I can think of many ways the blockchain could be useful in a few styles of game, but certainly would like to see how it works for a dungeon crawler

@thecastle
This sounds like it could be good/fun to play!

this is so interesting i think the technology of cryptocurrency has advance enough to be integrated into the gaming system.
is really cool you finally taking up this project
i will be looking forward to playing this game
do follow and upvote @oliverwilliams

a very interesting project. and I believe it will get a lot of attention. I wish you success in your business

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25