Revulsion - Exploring the concept of having classic death spikes in a first person shooter.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

We know that Revulsion is not going to be an easy game. We also know you don't often see things like this in first person shooters. Most first person shooters try to be more realistic and less gamey. In a way this makes a lot of sense since realism does tend to compliment the medium of placing you in a first person perspective.

But I want to avoid focusing on realism when it comes to game mechanics. I want the game to explore the pure game play concepts and stay as consistent with them as possible.



Mega_man_6_gameplay.jpg

Megaman used these kinds of spikes to a point of insanity. I will probably never go this far. But I am thinking about actually using this kind of game play mechanic.


MagicaVoxel_2017-09-04_01-47-16.pngUE4Editor_2017-09-04_02-46-49.png

heh, I can already sense the busted keyboards and controllers. I can sense people wanting to gouge my eyes out in rage induced flusters. This will likely be what kills me in the end. Killed by angry gamers who find themselves getting murdered by not only difficult combat but classic megaman spike traps as well.

... Perhaps I am going too far.


Revulsion is an independent game project that I am solo designing right now! My plan is to get the game on steam early access soon.

You can support this project by simply following me and upvoting me on Steemit! Or you can play the free demo! Link Below.
https://steemit.com/gaming/@thecastle/download-and-play-the-first-demo-build-of-my-game-project-stray

All project Stray related posts are located here:
https://steemit.com/created/revulsion

Sort:  

Congratulations @thecastle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55