Project Stray potential names. We may have a contender! What do you think?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Project Stray is just a temporary project code name.(Part 2)



ezgif.com-video-to-gif (15).gif


Alright so I have been going over names. There have been some pretty good and pretty funny ideas so far too. I have removed ideas that involve more than one word as I would prefer to keep the name as a one word

  • Sunder

  • Sunder is to break or crush or split apart. Its a bit strange but it could maybe work. This works pretty well with the games underlying theme of being split into an alternate reality. it also kind of implies that you will be crushed by the game.
  • Grave

  • Sounds cool, I like a name that implies that the player will be dying a lot. Sadly, the name appears to be taken.
  • Stray

  • Strayed

  • Stray and Strayed both have the same problem. There is already a fairly well known and critically panned first person shooter by the name of Strafe. If I choose to call this game anything even remotely similar I risk confusing a lot of people who will probably just assume my game is Strafe.
  • Allein

  • German for "Alone", Pretty cool but it seems a bit off. You are never really alone, it also doesn't imply anything about the alternate reality story. It does kind of hint at the fact you will experience death fairly often or that its more or less all up to you to unravel the games challenges.
  • Mortal

  • It implies you will die but it seems kind of off to me.
  • Monstrous

  • The game has a lot of monsters in it for sure! The name seems to be taken though. :(
  • Ominous

  • Seems pretty cool. Its taken and it also sounds like a horror game. :/ Also the name is taken.
  • Merciless

  • Pretty sure the name is taken. But it is not bad by any means at all. It sets the mood for the games experience for sure. It doesn't say much about the story though.
  • Unrelenting

  • Its a lot like Merciless in some respects. Not bad. But I cant tell for sure if the name is taken. I see a lot of things that have unrelenting in the name but nothing named just unrelenting.
  • Animus

  • Animus is taken but its a pretty interesting way to hint at the games overall story arc. Stepping into a mirror world where everything is different would be perceived as a change in Animus. (basic attitude or governing spirit)

    I may actually name the games first episode The Animus Mirror .

  • Revulsion

  • This one is pretty good and it appears to not be taken! It has a pretty unpleasant sound to it and its definitions fit within the story and overall concept of the game.
    1. a strong pulling or drawing away : withdrawal
    2. a sudden or strong reaction or change
    3. a sense of utter distaste or repugnance

    This fits with being pulled into an unpleasant alternate reality.

  • QuRaoom

  • Quake Rage and Doom all in one! :X
  • BFD

  • Big Fucking Demons haha!!

    yeah, no...

So I am leaning pretty heavily in the idea of going with Revulsion.
Sunder also works and might be a bit easier to read and say.

So Sunder or Revulsion? What do you guys think? hmm

The first episode will be called The Animus Mirror.



ezgif.com-video-to-gif (17).gif


Project Stray is an independent game project that I am solo working on. Nearly everything you see was either implemented by me or created by me from scratch!

You can support this project by simply following me and upvoting me on Steemit! Or you can play the free demo! Link Below.
https://steemit.com/gaming/@thecastle/download-and-play-the-first-demo-build-of-my-game-project-stray

All project Stray related posts are located here:
https://steemit.com/created/projectstray

Sort:  

I like 'revulsion' alot!

Hey man, once you get it down to like 3 names - I suggest making a poll where people would vote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56