You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is There Any Room For Short Content On Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

Thank you for this long explanation of your self-upvoting.
A few days ago I was talking about your second account @traf with some fellow steemians and we also didn't like the image it presented.

Of course it is your right to self-upvote all of this if you think it is worth it (and you are right, in case it goes viral around the net it absolutely would be!)- but the image just doesn't look good when you look at it without deeper thinking.

I think you would have been better of by just sticking to your popular main account - Maybe this would have made it easier for something to go viral?

Or, if you didn't want to "spam" your main account - What about posting with @traf and resteeming with @trafalgar? Therefore you could use @trafalgar for important posts only but still use your huge follower basis. Thought about that option?

In your defense I have to say that I have seen you manually upvote posts from rather unknown authors - this is definitely a thing not all of the whales are doing.

Btw., have you checked out my recent posts about the different forms of mobile steemit usage? Would love your opinion there, especially since you seem to use them on a regular basis ;)

Sort:  

very good points, but I think the image of short content being spammed is a stigma I wish to change here

there are meaningless short posts and there are ones that take more effort than the average long post but potentially hold a lot more impact. The test is this, if the creator was anonymous, what is the post worth? As I've explained the rampant self voting is more or less barely breaking even from vote renting, which does not discriminate on the quality of the post being bought (for the post part). Any less and there's just zero economic incentive for me to post at all.

what do you think of that? But also can you comment on the quality of my short posts please

if i'm honest, in terms of the impact that a post would have, a top 3 post from @trafalgar would not compare to even the average post from @traf if we were to let them out on conventional social media

90%+ of people just won't read long posts, almost irrespective of the content unless it's in the niche they're interested. Whereas a meme or a joke is mostly welcomed by all.

I was just in the middle of reading that post actually, it's interesting.

90%+ of people just won't read long posts, almost irrespective of the content unless it's in the niche they're interested. Whereas a meme or a joke is mostly welcomed by all.

This is definitely the case!

Any less and there's just zero economic incentive for me to post at all.

I am not saying that I can not understand why you do it. And of course it is your well earned tight to use your power however you like.

what do you think of that?

Difficult. I can understand your point of view and your motivation. But I also understand people who don't like the image of it. But, as stated above, I have even seen you upvote posts from unknown minnows which is great and kinda prooves you are not only holding the power for selfupvoting.

But also can you comment on the quality of my short posts please
Like with all jokes. I like some (the toilet-paper one for example) and some didn't even make me smile a little (like the one with hanging the telephone up).

I was just in the middle of reading that post actually, it's interesting.
Didn't want to distract you from doing so :)

What do you think?
6.png

Not people for the most part - it's the bots that do this. People would look at the post and not upvote. The bot upvotes because it got paid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70