You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where have all the intelligent Steemians gone?

in #steemit7 years ago

That is the point about curation, IT IS CENSORSHIP or DISCRIMINATION or what ever you want to call it. In the sense that it is a filter on a public set of criteria. If the curator DOESN'T discriminate content, they are in fact useless because there will be information overload quickly rendering the whole exercise useless. People don't realize that too much information is NO INFORMATION at all!

Sort:  

I understand that. I was simply pointing out that we all have a different view of things. It is not a 'one size fits all' world. Some will appreciate the filter while others will not. I'm sure there will be enough that do like the filter and you should grow a nice following from it.

I personally flip-flop on the idea. If I'm pressed for time, I want the 'Coles Notes' version. If I'm looking for random new ideas/authors, I prefer doing my own filtering.

There is enough material on Steem now that there will be no shortage of interested people on both sides. Ultimately, communities are what is desired. How we build them will remain to be seen.

Indeed, there should not be any "authority" element, in fact you are right the viewpoint of one author curating might be limited but necessary as an "arbiter"
So a hybrid of many contributors and a filter element might be best. But there is no problem for me if someone else "forks" the curation posts and decides to build their own!

I think it is a great start. Let's see where it takes us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60340.70
ETH 2597.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53