Am I the only one that doesn't feel comfortable about this?

in #steemit6 years ago

dtube.jpg

Or am I just paranoid? Have I already, and unknowingly, given these permissions to other apps like dsound and steemconnect? It's just when I see all of that laid out in front of me it makes me feel weird.

What do you think?

Sort:  

It is tricky but its also the only way to do it. Thats why I had to make a microblog account @heymattzappl because for some of these sites, like decentmemes.com or even zappl.com, I dont want to expose my main account for any risk.

With DTube though I feel like its ok -- after all it is one of the most popular and up-and-coming ways to use Steem, and they seem to have a lot of respect from Ned and other higher-ups.

That's true, but just because something is well regarded doesn't mean it's good or safe. I think I'll probably just deal with it and set up a dtube account anyway.

Oh, speaking of secondary accounts, what's the price of a steemit account these days? I think it's time to set up an account for my Junky Jeff project.

I always feel a little safer using my posting password rather than my active or owner key. So the worst that can happen is some hacker posts a bunch of embarrassing stuff in my name. And since I'm on here every day I don't think it would get very far before I could log in and change my password.

But yeah, if you want these services to post from your connection to the blockchain, I don't think there's any way around it.

Convenience always comes with a price it seems. I do think I'm a bit too paranoid about these things most of the time, but sometimes paranoia can keep you safe, haha.

Paranoia: too much is always better than not enough.

How does that Catch 22/Kurt Cobain quote go again? "Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they're not after you." Or something along those lines, haha.

The Posting Password doesn't seem to work for me. they want the owner. Kinda makes me worried to join it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83