HOW I GOT THAT TINY VOICE

in #steemit6 years ago

Image-7232.jpg
So this post was inspired by @samstickkz post on how he got his steemit username. Now here's how I got mine.
My childhood was weird in the sense that i didn't exactly have fun like the other boys. I always preferred playing ten-ten with the girls and trying to cook sand and leaves to actually playing the fake FBI agent, catching thieves with the other boys. Football wasn't an option. At least not when the ball was targeted at me rather than the goal post I had to guard several times. Puberty came early for me as I saw my first beard strands at 14. I used to have a weird dislike for mirrors as I felt all they did was show me how imperfect I was all the time without providing solutions so I didn't really didn't notice the strands. Not until an older friend pulled from my chin and I screamed. I can't forget that day. Ever!
Fast-forward two years after and my mates started to talk like men (with the deep, Crack baritone that is) and I was just there, still sounding like a 10 year old girl. I really wasn't worried because I was still in secondary school and being one of the smartest kids in my class, had earned some form of respect, plus my friends and family had already gotten used to that tiny voice. Years passed and I started to lose hope on the fact I'd ever sound like a man. At least I wanted to be able to call customer care and not have them address me as Miss Sola or have people call me names because my look didn't match the way I sounded. With time, I started to isolate myself from people and I got depressed and alone. I was ashamed of speaking in public or even making Instagram videos. It was one really dark phase I went through. My major turning point was when I decided to seek help from a doctor. Somehow I knew that he or she would understand and this time, I wasn't disappointed. Getting real, firsthand information liberated me. With training, I was able to conjure a baritone. At least that's one I use when I'm on the phone or when I have to approach my lecturer. Lol
But then the real me is the one who still laughs like a girl. The real me is the one with the tiny voice.
@surpassinggoogle helped me create my steemit account. I remember the moment he asked for a username. All these memories and more raced through my mind in seconds, then I smiled and typed THATTINYVOICE.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44