DO WE REALLY GROW UP?

in #steemit6 years ago

Maturity is experience wrapped in wrinkles. aint it? Sometimes I wonder; what's it to be mature? People say we've got 14-year old men and 40-year old babies. Could that really be true? what happens when a forty year old decides to feel like a kid for once?. I mean, most people actually wish they were younger, probably to correct some past mistakes or simply to bask in the euphoria of childhood experiences. Some do simply because they never enjoyed the priviledges of a child when they were much younger. My daddy for example, was a 'bookie'. You know all these parents who won't let their kids play GTA simply because they feel it would make them dull?. Now, I lost him when I was nine. That didn't really kill my crazy appetite for books cause I really love discovery; puts me into trouble sometimes though. [winks]. I'd rather not talk about that. As a young man, most of my peers used to laugh at me simply because of how i dressed or carried mysef. there was something that really used to give me concern-the size of my penis; this might sound funny but i never took it to be. i normally tried to shy away from others simply because compared to them, mine was a pipeline. it really made me unhappy for a long time until i had to come to terms with who i actually was. i had to accept the fact that this is how i was made and changing it was never going to help me at all. Another thing that has really left deep scars or impressions of people about me is the fact that i speak like a lady. my voice even sounds sweeter than that of some customer care agents so it really used to make me unhappy. I once had this friend on a social network. he was very funny and chatty like me. with time, we bonded. i never knew that haapiness denied him of checking out my display picture until he was about asking me to be his 'girlfriend'. I really felt so sorry for him as he had practically wasted money talking to me for months, only for him to discover i was not what he had always wanted me to be. I could be taken for a proud person but I'm a man who operates based on certain standards set for him . i might have gone back on them sometime but i am very good at taking few steps back to where i came from. my attitude to different people tends to change, i wonder why,,,, someone once told me that i am choleric. others take my ma sense of maturity for pride. maybe its because i don't feel normal. i just don't think that I'm like everybody else. maybe i am not. I've always loved trying new things but now i know better. sometimes its best to just keep your distance and not try at all.

Sort:  

Congratulations @thattinyvoice! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47