You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF19 SUCKS! MY REWARDS GRADUALLY GO DOWN BY 50+% BEFORE PAYOUT!

in #steemit7 years ago

I learned today that one of the factors that calculates potential payouts is the amount that's in the prize pool, and also the pending rewards. So, people who are now able to spam comment or shit-post and self upvotes every two minutes are raking in thousands of dollars, and hurting everyone's payouts...

Sort:  

I just saw a guy who has commented twice on my posts by now and self-upvotes himself without upvoting my post and his upvote was worth 3+ dollars. I checked him out and realized he's been doing that to everyone and some people are even talking about him and have flagged him. But his voting power was down to almost 10% so people like him can't keep on doing what they're doing. No? Because as far as I know the voting power drops by 2% by every upvote. That is a maximum of 50 upvotes in 5 days or 10 upvotes per day because it only recharges 20% per day. I try to maintain mine above 80%.

It still adds up to HUGE abuse of the rewards pool.

Right. But it should settle down after a week? No? That's what I don't get...

Now that almost everyone can upvotes themselves and actually see the money stack up, it's much more enticing for new users to simply ignore the way the network is meant to be used, and pay themselves for nothing.

Unfortunately, I'd rather go back to the way it was, and build to the point that I'm a whale who earns a legitimate income.

As long as new users can come in and single handedly pay themselves, potential payout will continue to decrease across the board.

Self-upvoting isn't something new. It was allowed and happening before HF19 as well. And disabling it isn't gonna fix anything as people can create more accounts and still self-upvote. I don't think there's an easy fix to the problem. The system is designed so that whoever invests more, will be able to earn more. Even the whales that are supporting content creators only do so because they want more traffic so that the price of Steem would go up. I think the system is rigged just like everything else made by men!

that comment gets an upvote so true

I see your point... Not sure what the future holds, but i know the reward pool can't handle the type of abuse I've seen since the hardfork

The 'abuse' that you're talking about isn't something new. Maybe it has become more visible and transparent after HF19 because even the minnows can now do it, even though what they earn will be nothing compared to what the whales have been earning!

and the whales upvote themselves also or each other on a regular basses . the back scratch..
But people will be people and unless self voting is cancelled nothing will change . And even if self voting is eliminated people will just go to multiple accounts and bots ... you cannot change greed it is part of our monetary society and to get rid of it will mean getting rid of so many thing people covet so dearly ... but it is a great social experiment and I am enjoying watching it.

Yep, same guy did that on one of my posts...didn't even upvotes my post.

Who is he?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12