GDPR on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

The General Data Protection Regulation will hit in 60 days. This new European Privacy Law demands that businesses which carry a lot of personal data will give access and control over the data to the person, whose data is stored. This will concern all personal data collected starting 25. May.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_Data_Protection_Regulation

I am currently building the QA/Test for GDPR compliance for a Hotel Booking Plattform and I would be happy to do the same for Steemit. Including getting the requirements for the devs.

I have seen nothing on Steemit concerning GDPR just a few <1$ Posts that seem to be rather general on the topic.

I am currently working with developers to ensure the implementation, so I hope the devs here on Steem don't take it as spam when I put Steemdev in the tags. If there are any devs here interested in saving Steem for the European community, please holla in the comments.

GDPR might be incompatible with a Blockchain but I do not understand the Steem Blockchain enough to say that for sure. Some implementation of a confirm message that clearly states that PERSONAL DATA CANNOT BE DELETED, would be at least needed but I do not think this is sufficent.

Even if this is an unsolvable Problem we should reflect about this and at least try to take meassures in some form.

Sort:  

DeIdRQoW4AAbDUA.jpg large.jpg

Being decentralized I’m afraid there isn’t an easy way for Steem to do this. There was someone awhile ago who registered Steem in the EU so they might be the best ones to contact.

This is amazing, steemit going all around the world @thatgermandude .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67