What Steemit Is To Me

in #steemit7 years ago

Today marks my second day participating with the SteemIt community, and Wow. I am blown away, this isn't what I was expecting when I had caught wind of this website. I was expecting..something much less personable and close-knit. I was expecting to be slightly off-put and drab about making new posts.

Instead? SteemIt is becoming a new outlet for me already. Somewhere new to express my thoughts and feelings. I've never been much of a blogger, but I've always had an itch for writing, especially about my life experiences or thoughts. Steemit is such a cool platform for this, I don't feel I'll be censored, I don't feel as though there's a petty atmosphere. I feel like I could pour myself to this community and not worry about the reception, which is something alien to me.

Steemit might manifest itself in many ways for me, a catch-all for my adventures in sex work and competitive video games, gushings about my partners, crypto analyses, event networking, anything. I never thought once "Oh, SteemIt could take on Reddit possibly" until I went to bed last night. I was blown away completely after I woke up and saw that my recent blog on my love of Skateboarding had gotten so many votes and so much positive reception, it was only my third post, that's so cool!

Steemit can offer you instant gratification for thoughts that sometimes may only be in your head for a fleeting moment. It's also lucrative from what I can see, I'm a little sad I didn't jump on here sooner, I feel like I'll become a regular member and hope to make some awesome friends on the boards here.

Thank you SteemIt, for giving me a new outlet to express myself in, where I can let my brain float around and my fingers glide around my keyboard for an audience of extremely eclectic individuals that may or may not have an interest in what I have to say. That might help me pay some bills, just because they like what I have to say. That my opinions could pay for groceries, that's a wild thought to me, one I will humbly embrace and run with. The implications of Steemit on the web of social network websites is insane to think about. I'm loving it. I'm sticking. Thanks for the warm welcome thus far <3

@looftee
#win10sbd

Sort:  

Congratulations @tgjamieerin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

I'm glad you joined...welcome to Steemit!
I think you'll just enjoy this place more and more with your hobbies.

On top of that, I'm happy to see there being an influx of trans people here. There have been a handful or so over the last year, but definitely under represented. While it's rare with most people at least having a 'live and let live' mentality, even if they disagree...don't be afraid to use that mute button should you run across a problem user.

I've searched "transgender" and I know what I'm in for, mostly good, with a bit of silly splashed here and there :P Thanks for the heads up!

Also awesome that we're both in MO ^_^ Maybe we could Crypto and Coffee sometime!

I'd definitely enjoy that. I've only been trading for a couple months, but I'm an absolute coffee veteran. Lol

I've only been trading a few weeks!

Hehe, that definitely makes me a little more intimidated. Which just means I'll probably talk little more than I would have otherwise...versus my 'shut, listen and learn mode.' :P

Hey, I'm off work this next week before I start my new job on the 30th...feel like meeting up for that coffee and crypto session?

I would absolutely be down! Do you use Twitter or something so we can coordinate stuff outside of Steemit's public eye?

I'm not really on twitter, but how about using steemit.chat (im also @sykochica in there) or we've got the discord we use here.

Congratulations @tgjamieerin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86