You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I quit, I think

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I think we all need to take a step back and say "why am I on here?" It does not feel good to get downvoted and lose money...yes of course....it has happened to me. I was the top trending post at one point and was dropped down by about 60 bucks. That is not why I am here.

Money gives us an extra incentive to not only live more comfortably but also gratification of doing something good for a community.

Facebook achieves this with likes (and they pocket all your monetary value). We see plenty of posts about how much greater this is than facebook but as soon as the money is cut, are people really more satisfied being here than Facebook? People spend all day on there to receive a thumbs up! Here the money adds some juicy icing on the cake...whether its 5 bucks or 100.... but it's still superficial. I'm looking for real people..real connections...real life...many of which i have found on this site for sure!

Money is not my incentive but it is good to have. If you plan to quit because of the "experiment," then is it because of the percent money you lost like many have? Is the money what is keeping you here, and if so, what message are you sending to your supporters with that?

I respect your animosity towards this unchecked aggression, but I also feel some cheapness in your response to it.

I agree that the "experiment" can leave a nasty taste in the mouth, but does that destroy Steem and this community? I don't think the majority of my followers would budge because of this little chaotic shindig.

I invite you to stay and to contemplate your reasons for wanting the Steem community in your life.

I think your intent is good, and you clearly write some sound posts... but I think your response to the aggression shines light into the imperfections of humanity.....

Sort:  

My supporters, if they really follow me, understand that I am not in a good financial system. I'm in a foreign country on the run with no identification so making money is not cut and dry for me. At this point, while I am to a point where I can support myself, I still am not financially stable. I've got less than five dollars to my name most of the time, including now.

If you had no money and were faced with the choice of doing something for free, but still adding value or would you turn to ventures that bring in some capital so you have a place to live and food to eat?

It seems like many people on this site do not understand what it's like to just not have the money to say, buy water. Or food. Or to see a doctor. But this is my reality, things look rosy on steemit but we spend a lot of time stressing about how to pay for food or rent. With that in mind, putting Steemit on the backburner will happen if this new paradigm continues. That's all I'm saying. I won't jeopardize my survival because I want to be a blogger, even if I'm successful.

Thank you for the response. You are correct, I haven't hit hard times like that and I'm sorry that is the position you are in. However, I also believe people in your position also go on Facebook whether they should or not for their situation because they enjoy it.....not for the money obviously. That is my hope for steem at least. And if the vision is beyond money that is where the value will rise because of perceived value is greater. The pot of steem will feel longer to boil if you are staring at it,waiting for the steem to rise. If you plan the ingredients of the meal, the steem rises pretty easily and with a perceived less time.

Like I said, totally not done now. I just needed to be clear as many have insinuated that I'm entitled. It's not exactly entitlement when you're trying to make a living and it's work that we should be awarded for.

Glad you are not done! Keep up the good writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50