Sort:  

the convoluted bullshit reason for this is something about payout estimation being based on a moving average of the price of steem, where the price declining can drag down the SBD payout of all posts and price increasing can bring it up. I think in either case the actual steem power payout is unaffected, but so long as SBD value is above $1usd it accounts for a higher percentage of the payout value than the SP does so it can hurt to watch it go down. In the case of steem price rising you can often see posts increasing in value without any interaction, so what is really changing is the calculation of what the payout will be, and I have thought for a long time this is a confusing way to have it represented on the front end, I personally think it should either display as steem payout (which I think is rather constant) or it should stack SBD onto the payout based on the value at the time of voting rather than at the time of payout. Well, it's kinda busted but knowing is half the battle and all that, so I hope this info helps :)

Yeah it's confusing really. I found a post that explained something but I can't find it again sorry lol. It's not that the price of Steem matters so much (really it shouldn't, the "dollar" value at the bottom is in Steem Dollars). It has something to do with having too little Steem in your wallet or something. Like below a certain amount you're on probation and above that (or after a certain time) it pays out properly. NO idea what that value is or how long. Plus post payouts depreciate in time as for some reason rewards are taken away from older posts to give to newer posts. Which of course is super weird because you can keep on doing that forever, there will always be new posts.

But yeah I couldn't find an official explanation for the lack of payout, because it does look different. I've been paid out numbers like 0.003 SP or whatever so it's not the fact that it's two decimals. Like if it said I'm getting 0.03 but then it's like 0.009 for some reason ok, still weird. But it's just nothing lol.

The ones I've been paid out on were comments on other people's threads and somehow I lucked into a curation reward (once). I have some $0.10 and $0.20 comments and posts coming up (from you actually, thanks haha) and even one that's $1.35 (down from $1.74 or so) so let's see what happens with a bit bigger figures that you can't as easily brush under the carpet.

BTW how WEIRD is it that SBD is actually worth less than Steem! Everywhere you look people will say DON'T power up all your posts because at 50/50 you're getting 50% of it in SBD and can then exchange for more Steem - like 1.15 Steem per SBD, except now it's the other way around! Because supposedly the blockchain still treats it as 1 Steem = 1 SBD and pays out like that, even though that's not the case any more on the market. And really I don't know if even that payout is still the case, because at 50/50 I'm not getting the same numbers for my payout, but something obscure like 0.003 SP and 0.009 SBD, what exactly does that add up to?? Frankly I don't think it's worth playing games over lol, you make the decision whether you want to get some SBD to use first up or not. Some apps can cost small amounts of SBD so it's handy keeping some around, since powering down takes so excrutiatingly long. Or you make the decision that you don't care about the pennies of SBD you'll get here and there and would rather it just add to your SP so your posting account is actually worth something.

edit: the post with the probation time comment: https://steemkr.com/steemit/@steemboys/why-no-steemit-rewards-7-day-limit-or-pros-and-cons-or-new-accounts

another with the same problem: https://steemit.com/steemit/@theafroguy/steemit-not-paying-me-my-rewards

If you would like your post to be resteemed for more people to see it, check out this post and follow the steps:

https://steemit.com/resteem/@average-joe/68n5gg-free-resteem-get-your-post-resteemed-for-more-rewards

Please be sure to follow me, let me know that you followed me and I will follow you back.

Sure joe, if you want to spread the word I'm all for it lol

Thanks man!
Your post has been resteemed👍

Ok so it depends on how much Steem Power you have or something? I've had comments in other threads payout ($0.02 to 0.003 SP and 0.009 SBD, how that is 50/50 of anything or how ~ 0.012 total adds up to 0.02 I don't know), but at the same time my own posts adding up to 0.02 or 0.03 simply not pay out. What's worse is the little payout figure doesn't have an arrow button where you see "Past payouts" with some figures, it's just zero and that's that. This just can't happen, it's wrong for it to be like that. Think of the message that sends. New users can't be expected to do a thorough mathematical study of the rewards algorithm, they just want to know the rules and post cool stuff. All this stuff is super cynical.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34