My week in Maui - Day 1

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

 So let's be real: Maui is paradise.

I've only been here 24 hours and I can tell I never want to leave. Everything is so close to perfect, it's a little mind numbing.

I'm here with my family and the only thing that can make us go crazy is each other. We are staying in a condo in Mekena Surf and have access to a private beach. We decided that the private beach was our first course of action. Once we got all of our stuff situated in the sand, our chairs set up, umbrella anchored, sunscreen on, we were ready to go into the water. The water here is clear and warm, unlike the beaches we are used to going to back in LA. We stumbled and stubbed our toes on the many black rocks that covered the ocean floor, but as we went further out we found softer ground. So at first, we were off to a rocky start. ;)  

We were enjoying the waves and all of a sudden I feel a sharp pain on my left foot. My first thought was that I had cut my foot on a sharp rock, but then again, it felt more deliberate than a rock. There were crabs all over the beach, but I paid no mention to what was on the bottom of the ocean floor near our feet. I didn't see any fish and my foot wasn't bleeding, so my final assumption is that I got too close to a crab and it pinched me. Sorry Mr. Krabs. Fearing that my nephew or my mom or sister would get hurt, we decided to head over to the public beach a little closer to our condo. We didn't want to risk it; clearly, we aren't really big risk takers.

The public beach was beautiful and the sand was oh so soft. Luckily the two beaches weren't too far away from each other, so our small little hike wasn't too bad. I'm a pretty pale individual, as is my sister, so we lathered up with sunscreen and headed back out into the ocean. I wasn't completely over my fear of getting pinched again, so when I saw a large dark mass heading my direction, I may have had a mini freak out. Not really knowing about the marine life in Hawaii, I panicked thinking that the mass was a sting ray and I was going to endure some pretty intense pain in the next few seconds. To my surprise, it was the largest sea turtle I have ever seen! It was magnificent. Still freaking out, but for joy and not fear, I screamed out so that everyone could hear me that freaking sea turtles were here. Two big turtles peeked their heads out of the water for air. I followed them around for the next 30 minutes while everyone looked at me crazy. I didn't care. I still don't. Those were some of the coolest living creatures I have ever seen. Yes I am an adult, but my sister said I kept shouting like a little child. Whatever (Said in valley girl fashion.) The rest of the afternoon was consumed with enjoying the water and my nephew teaching me how to use the boogie board to "ride the waves." No other sea creature related injuries or sightings.

Late in the day we went to the shops in Wailea and rented some snorkel gear for the week from Bob's Snorkel. We stopped by an ice cream place called Lappert's Hawaii and enjoyed some cookie samples from Honolulu Cookies. They were stupid good. Like super stupid. I will buy many of those cookies for presents for family members back home. They were to die for. Not joking. (I consider myself a sweets expert, so trust me on this one.) Then we made a grocery run and went back to our condo.

(links to these businesses are attached below)

https://www.lappertshawaii.com

http://snorkelbob.com/

http://www.honolulucookie.com

For dinner my mom made a delicious steak and chicken meal that we enjoyed on the back porch. Thanks Mom for cooking even though it's your vacation, too! Our condo has Lanai doors, so we were able to bask in the beauty that sits right out in our backyard. It all was just so amazing.

As we were getting ready for bed, we decided we had just enough energy to watch a movie. Our choice, Just Go with It, starring Adam Sandler and Jennifer Aniston. Since it's based in Maui, we felt it was an appropriate choice. It's one of my favorites so it was so much fun to show it to my newphew for the first time, even though most of the adult jokes went over his head. We may even walk around to the hotel they filmed at tomorrow!

All in all, day one was real good to us. Let's keep the beautiful days coming!

-Tessa
Sort:  

Great to hear you are having a great time! I would kill to see real life sea turtles! Looking forward to your next post :)

I've never been outside the US, but this sounds like a grand time! Thanks for sharing your story, I hope to visit there one day, or at least someplace similar. :)

A nice place. Good post. Look forward to continuing.

Thank you. Hopefully my travels won't keep me from posting!

magnificent, perfecto and the little crustacean being perfectly camouflage.
SteemitThumbsUp57112.png

Really beautiful nature! The place of my dream )

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.1 and reading ease of 86%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Beautiful place! It was my dream to go Hawaii when I was younger. And now looking those photos I definitely want to travel there! :)

Nice post glad to hear things are going well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64