THE DO'S AND DONT'S FOR NEW STEEMIT USERS

in #steemit6 years ago

Well ladies and gents, I'm going to share with you one of the last, if not the last blog entry I write here in Steemit. It is what it is though, I'm just going to share my knowledge, from experience, for new users to hopefully take into account before they jump into the water with dolphins, whales, sharks and more. I hope that this can help someone like my old posts used to, but only you guys can make that happen.

LIMIT YOUR POSTING

Meaning as it says, don't jump on here posting a hundred posts a day. People on here move differently than on traditional social media, and frankly, nobody finds interest in someone posting multiples through a day. I used to post multiple posts a day and found personally, it was just more efficient to do a couple really intriguing pieces a day. I know, it is demoralizing to have such talent and that fire under you wanting you to move forward, I know because I felt like that once on Steemit. It just doesn't work to do it the way you would on Facebook. Still, do your best by all means, release incredible articles, just do it on a semi slow basis.

DO NOT COPY & PASTE

Simply read, do not copy and paste your posts or other's posts. Doing this with your own material is considered spam. I lost a week's earnings from a "flag war", which is a real thing on here, because I overpopulated the feeds with multiple copies of my own work. Though it was my own original work, it was still not acceptable now that I reflect on it. I understand why it's important to keep spam or spam like material off of here because it ruins the integrity of the platform. ABSOLUTELY DO NOT copy and paste anyone else's material for your own gains, this is considered plagiarism and you will be banned, blocked, flagged and more for this. I personally did not go the route of stealing other's work, but some have, and I have witnessed it first hand. This my friends is a huge no no.

TAKE TIME TO READ BLOGS ON STARTING HERE ON STEEMIT

Just take the time to read these informative articles found all over the platform. It will be for your own gain and understanding. I'll list a few, but make sure you do this.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@marsresident/the-steemit-guide-for-new-users

https://steemit.com/steem/@thecryptofiend/steem-the-super-basic-explanation-for-new-users

https://steemit.com/steem/@infovore/a-curated-guide-for-steemit-new-users-my-journey-to-becoming-a-better-streemit-user

CREDIT YOUR QUOTED/BORROWED MATERIALS AND IMAGES

Do exactly what it says. Let everyone know if you borrowed from an article online or borrowed a picture. Show the link and give credit to the owner of the mentioned piece. This is the moral thing to do as a writer or any artist. Failure to do so can result in you being blacklisted by "bots", or system coded accounts who cruise Steemit searching for people not following the rules, or as I call them, the Steemit PD. Just follow the rules!

DO NOT FLAG OR DOWNVOTE OUT OF SPITE

This is a decentralized system, meaning nobody is in quality control to help us if we have problems. There are no moderators, no admin here. So, be the one operating with ethic and morals, do not get in arguments or spats with people and flag them/downvote them just to be spiteful. It for one, damages that person's reputation and two it will damage their earnings. In an unregulated world, we need to learn how to conduct ourselves in order to build a bigger, brighter future. I have both done this and fallen victim to it, over self pride and anger, and sadly it is driven by human nature and emotion. I however, see the flaw in my actions and the flaw in other's. I highly suggest, act like an adult on here, take your lumps and deal with it. Do not make a habit out of doing these things because it damages the bigger picture, Steemit, in the outcome. ONLY FLAG OR DOWNVOTE material which is subject, such as spam, offensive content, content in the wrong area's, etc.

ONLY TAG YOUR WORK WITH RELEVANT TAGS

Just as it says, do not abuse the system. DO NOT make a post about video games and when you go to post it, tag it in a non relevant feed like food, or travel. Think about which tags will net you the biggest bang for your time, but keep in mine, more popular tags, have much more coming through at once. Try thinking outside of the box, hit some of the smaller tags along with bigger tags, so you aren't washed away with the 1,000 posts that came in that minute. Just do what this says, or you will be flagged and lose your earnings, as I ALMOST had to deal with.

TREAT OTHER USERS WITH RESPECT AND AS HUMAN BEINGS JUST LIKE YOU

This is a big one for people in general. Everyone has a difference of opinion and where they think things should go, how they should work, etc. Some people don't like each other for reasons unknown, but what is known, is everyone needs to respect each other and treat each other fairly. Do not dumb yourself down to someone's level out of anger, it is not fruitful or productive for anyone involved. Respect your neighbors in the community.

LEARN AS MUCH AS YOU CAN

I have found a great deal of educative material on here and it is a great opportunity to learn from other's mistakes, experiences and successes. Utilize it.

DO NOT USE RESTEEMABLE OR RESTEEMIT

Though the idea of these sounds awesome for beginners, I found out the hard way. It is frowned upon and people will flag you, point blank. Do not spam your own work.

THINK ABOUT THE PURPOSE NOT JUST YOURSELF

EVERYTHING we do on here is forever part of the blockchain and is part of this platform. So with everything you do, consider that. Be part of the growth, not destruction. Be part of the solution and not part of the problem. Take this advice and use it to your best ability to build a greater future!

This is about it ladies and gents. I would elaborate more, and possibly will at a later date, but for now I'm stepping back away from the Steemit platform. I abused some of my powers on here, yes. I made some enemies, yes. I had my earnings taken from me out of spite, yes. So I, have learned these do's and don'ts the hard way. Hopefully, this can help some of you be the most productive you can be. I do want to apologize to any of you on my follower list who had to see the BS that went down the past few days. I was out of my element and acted wrongly, and for this, I do apologize. I let raw emotion get the best of me and drive some of my actions. I'm not saying the things done to me were right, I'm saying some of what I did was wrong, and I deeply and sincerely apologize for this. I may not be back, and if I'm not, I want to thank everyone who helped me on here and everyone who welcomed me in warmly. It was truly a pleasure and a great time, thank you!

For the betterment of this platform, please, BLOG RESPONSIBLY. GOOD LUCK!

U5dr87pgcBAscZmRhHz59E9BZQLYVMM_1680x8400.jpe

Sort:  

Good on ya, man. Another excellent post.
Chin up. Hope to see you back in the future.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

You’re not finished yet... Still have to come back and collect.

Very helpful advises...... It's long post...... but the point is have common sense and don't abuse the system to your own profit...... but, why I feel sad after read it????

Just, make sure you be back..... steemit need you....

Thanks for the insight terminallyill, they say you learn something new every day. Much appreciated and I will pass this info on where ever I see it needed. I Followed you and I will Upvote this blog and reSteem it as well. All the best to you and yours in 2018!
Danny Zale ~ @factcheck

Up voted and resteemed!
Sorry for your lost bro, but keep on fighting the good fight!!
Hope to see you soon!

Perfect blog
Very informative and extremely helpful
Thank you!!!

Congratulations @terminallyill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

There is plenty of good advice in this post. Upvoted and resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87