10 Months ago I met @ned in Oslo and joined Steemit...

in #steemit7 years ago

... and what an awesome journey it has been.

Now you might look at my profile and see that I haven't posted much, I haven't been very active on Steemit as a regular user. I guess you could say that I have been on the sidelines, watching what happens, reading what people post and watching as the value of my STEEM increased.

I watched as several people who really stood out on Steemit start to make a living here. They quit their jobs and lived off of the money they made here. I was amazed but I didn't believe that Steemit was the next big thing. It can't work, this idea? Everyone just seemed to talk about Steem and how to earn more bringing no real value to the rest of the internet.

Steemit was a decent idea but I didn't see what was unique about it.

Let me tell you that I now realize how wrong I was, I am starting to understand how Steem works. I think a lot of people who take a look at Steemit see an altcoin and a website where people are paying each other for good content. This understanding is wrong. I now see how rewards are not given by other users, it comes from mining where half of the STEEM mined goes to users contributing content and half goes to the miner. I am still not 100% sure this is how it works but I think that this is the basic idea.

Either way, I am happy that I came back to Steemit and I see it much more diverse when it comes to content. Most of the articles tend to be cryptocurrency related but they don't focus on Steemit itself as much. I also see plenty of posts that you might expect to see on regular blogs which is awesome!

This has made me think a lot, I even forked steem on Github just to get a better understanding. I am mainly a PHP programmer and only worked with C++ back in college so I don't expect to get a hang of it in one night.

What I want to end off on is that I see a really bright future for Steemit. Keep adding new features, keep adding new tools and keep posting great content! I will try to write a few more posts as well, I am considering using Steemit as my primary publishing platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38