Comments Need Love Too

in #steemit8 years ago

I've noticed a slight trend here. You'll write a nice comment, spend (probably) too much time thinking of just the right words, contribute to peoples' understanding... and then people will reply to the comment saying "Nice comment, you're right!" Sometimes even "thanks, that was useful and I've updated my post to make it more clear."

Don't get me wrong, it's nice to get a little note of appreciation like that. On the other hand, this platform is built on voting! In fact, @dantheman suggests that minnow's are best off earning through posting or commenting:

Curation is a game for whales and dolphins. Minnows are unlikely to earn any significant return on their votes. Minnows should stick to posting and commenting. - https://steemit.com/steem/@dantheman/curation-rewards-and-voting-incentive

This is only good for minnows if those comments get upvotes though. I'm sure there are plenty of us out there providing value through comments, but it seems as though all the recognition goes to the original post.

So remember, if you liked a comment... upvoting is caring!

(Note, I was planning to make the upvote image heart shaped but then I found out I'd have to download plugins for Paint.Net to make it happen, and it's already past my bedtime. :( )

Sort:  

That is one of the differences I have noticed between here and reddit. With reddit most of the content is in the comments, with few people actually reading the submission; while here the content is in the submission with little in the comments.

While I do miss reading the large comment chains, I am thoroughly enjoying the high quality content in the submissions I am reading.

It is a problem. We must also consider the replies and comments to post as worthy content for upvoting, else we discourage an important aspect to Steemit, the digital conversation and sharing of broad perspectives.

I'm all about the followers. If my comment hits the mark and adds value to the content, I'll land a few followers.
Half the guys I'm following I found in the comments. Followers are the real currency here.

I like the comments as you get to see other people's viewpoints too...and I follow people who I find in the comments. I am probably doing it all wrong, but tbh I just want to post, vote and comment as I see fit. Probably why I will remain a minnow forever lol .

Anything for my fellow minnows, so here's my upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43