Steemit Over to Acapulco- Volume #2- How to get around the No Crypto Hotel issue...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago
  • Part two of a series of many highlighting my path to get to Anarchapulco simply by posting on Steemit!

Header.png

Welcome back, friends! After covering airfare in the first episode (link at the bottom of the page) the second will cover how to get around the issue with lack of crypto-friendly hotels in Mexico. But first, I would like to reflect what the increased bitcoin price did to the flights which I showed in Episode 1:

Airline Update.png

This caused me to consider hedging my bets by taking half of my steem into storage and selling half of my steem into my bitcoin (jaxx.io) wallet. This should help take away some of the risk of price inflation while capitalizing on the value recognition system of both cryptos.

So, as I went on my journey looking up hotels in Acapulco, I contacted several of them and they don't accept cryptocurrency as payment (I guess they aren't up to date on the global fiat currency crisis...). So, in order to work my way around that, I figured a way to still use crypto to make purchases for hotels, drinks and dining... and anywhere else that accepts the Visa logo (hint.. hint..)

I found something called the Shift card (https://www.shiftpayments.com/card) which connects your coinbase account to your visa and allows you to spend your bitcoin at anywhere that takes Visa like any other debit card. International POS purchase fees are in line with other bank cards at 3% and they are up front with their other fees, which are shown below:

Fees.png

So, the card costs 9.95 and they accept bitcoin as payments for this and my card should be here sometime next week. To hedge against this card not working up to my standards, I also ordered a BitPay Card, which was also a one time fee of 9.95 (https://bitpay.com). The cool thing that got me into the BitPay card is that you can actually have your payroll sent to the card, which is kinda neat. (Especially with the inflation rate and my distrust of the banking system).

I posted a link promoting the Monaco Card which I really wanted to use, since they do exchange rates and many other functions, but they threw the American Gringo kabosh at me from participation in their crowdsale and there was literally nowhere on their site to apply for one if I wanted to:

Rejection.png

That's right, folks, the US of A is as free as Hong Kong, Singapore and India to participate. So.... Moving on...

Now I have a method to use my Steemit to Bitcoin to spend on Hotels. There are many to look at and I am going to take more than one day to make a decision, so that'll be a few weeks from now.

Steemit Earnings Update:

The following spreadsheet shows my steemit earnings broken down into current USD value by using the up to date bitcoin prices: (186 days left before I purchase the plane tickets)

Tally.png

So, a lot of you may be wondering what I'm doing with those steem dollars? Well, powering up, of course! Those will be reflected in the Steem Power numbers in 3.5 days. Looks a lot better than yesterday's measly .066 Steem Power from curation, so I'm off to a great start! Any help is always appreciated as I hope to represent Steemit at Anarchapulco!

Sort:  

Yeah, I tried to get a monaco card too, but I don't think that they offer it to 'muricans...

Yeah, their inability to differentiate between their application process and their crowdsale makes me question communication in their company. Too bad, seems like a cool product... Oh well...

Congratulations @tee-em! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60767.58
ETH 2376.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57