Growing followers and community

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I am a little frustrated as I spent over an hour writing a post about how I found Steemit and how I was skeptical, about everything and decided to try the site not worrying about any money I made, but on the content. How I planned to use the site to improve my photography and how I think I have had many post do so well for a lowly minnow. I don't know what happened to my original post, I just know it disappeared after it posted and says the posts doesn't exists. Which is something I haven't seen before, so if you have seen something like this before lmk in the comments. I will from now on, copy and paste my articles before hitting submit, because though I am gonna attempt to rewrite what I wrote, I know there is no way it will be the same.

Years ago I wrote for on advertisement based site that in some ways it reminds me of how Steemit works. Based on what I learned there I applied the principal of for every 10 posts I comment I can make my own post. Sometimes I comment even more before making that post. I think that when you read something and comment with something that is relevant to the post, people then go to your page and read your stuff. When it is good I give an uplike.

I read everything I could under Steemit tag about Steemit, and how it worked. I am still not 100% sure on all the terminology or have a full understanding on what it means, as I am just a newbie, a minnow who has only been here just over 3 weeks. I have 307 followers and I am currently following 512 people myself. I feel humbled that so many people are interested in seeing my content and have upvoted it. I want to grow in the community, and I know that as I post, and share, and comment. Investing my time and reinvesting in Steemit, I will grow from a minnow to a dolphin to a Whale.

It will not happen over night, the Whales here have spent time, reinvested and invest themselves into the community, and if you desire to get to where they are at, you have to do that too. It does not happen over night. It takes an investment of time, and thought to create original content. But I am very pleased that my principals that I learned else where has been paying off here. This is what I looked liked after transferring my first blog post earnings, I transferred two days for a total of $148.06 after fees

Then I took my son and husband out to lunch on me, paid by my first blogs. One day I will become a bigger fish in this pond, and I am sure it will be just as much fun as it is swimming here as a minnow. If I have any advice to give someone just starting, it would be this. Write what you know, write original content, if you are sharing something that is not your own, give credit to where you found it if not it is plagiarism (don't be that person) comment more than you post, don't waste your upvoting power all at once, only upvote the articles of the day you think are the best. By reading and engaging by commenting you can always find the article and go back later to give them an upvote.

Join Steemit.chat get to know others who are blogging, it helps build relationships, Discord is another site I have found very helpful with meeting new people. I really do love Steemit, and am so grateful to be apart of this community. I am documenting learning photography here, and blogging about things I know and about things I feel in my heart I need to blog about. I also am doing a little blogging on places to see in the area I live in. Don't try to recreate what others are doing, be yourself and have fun.

Sort:  

Great summary of how you got here and what you have learned. This is a learning process. There are strategies to get where we want to go but it's like a treasure hunt where the map is found in pieces placed in people's posts. By reading posts that give give clues we can learn how to get to the treasure and not waste time wandering around. One thing I learned yesterday was to not just follow anyone at random. Look at your comments and follow back people who upvote you and comment back. They are the ones who will engage with you. Another thing. I saw a comment about symbiotic relationships. That was a concept that I was thinking about but I could not remember the term for it. Steemit can be symbiotic. Symbiotic relationship is where both persons are benefited by the relationship. Mutual prosperity is actually possible on Steemit.

Thank you for your kind words, and you are so correct. Happy steemiting

the greatest tech question i ever ask when it comes to something like that...
Were you on wifi?
I know it sounds strange, but a lot is lost in the air...

Yes I was, I rarely ever connect hardwired to my ISP.

have you tried grammerly.com?

I've never had a post 'disappear' but I always write my articles in word document and then copy and paste them into the text box.
Like you, I'm a newbie and it's quite a steep learning curve to understand the strategies involved in Steemit. We'll do well if we just keep going xx

It was the first time for me, and I am really bummed it was a lot better than this rewrite. :(

I think Steemit no more a Social Blogging site . Steemit is Family for me.

ikr I am feeling that way too.

You should check out the Remarkable desktop computer program. It is the best there is for Windows and Linux. Then you can do as @guided does.

Hi @tecnosgirl thank you for your post you are doing well for 3 weeks here i am here now only 6 days but me too i having the same issue as yours about my post disappear, yesterday i post a picture and explanation about a giant Buddha in Burma and 30 minutes later my post is no where to be seen. It is annoying so i redo it and repost it. But i will be happy to know the reason behind that issue. If you get the info please let me know. Following you now

if I find out I will let you know @ricko66

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47