You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curator's Slider - Steemit development

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I wholeheartedly agree. I curate A LOT. Even with power delegated to me (by a wonderful supporter of the platform), I rarely rise over 30% voting power. Why do I do this? Because I care more about the community than I do about the money.
Another important thing about vote selling and buying - I am working with the amazing guys over at minnowbooster to create a whitelist to give more exposure to high quality authors. In addition, there is an anti-abuse policy in place, to try and prevent usage of the MB service to generate profits and game the system. Another thing to do - steemcleaners. I report A LOT of those users trying to game the system with upvote farms with 100s of users. They need to be purged. ASAP.
So while I am not sure a curation reward slider is the right solution, I think @ned and friends need to give thought to the right processes and rewards to ensure people curate more and benefit from it without gaming the system.

Sort:  

I don't know much about MB but am not a fan of the pay for vote at all, even if it goes to decent content as in the end, it will slowly push all value to a very sharp point much like the real world that isn't doing so well currently.

I send theodd case over to steemcleaners too but it is a losing battle as they are like hydra. I am hoping there is a way to starve them completely.

Me too. And I truly wish there was SOME way I could help. And self-voting bots are here to stay. They are the only way minnows can get any attention in trending or hot.

They are the only way minnows can get any attention in trending or hot.

You're saying that the only way for minnow accounts to get there is to buy votes? Really?

The way things are right now? I am afraid so. I wish it wasn't the case, but look around. The system is flawed in many ways - from encouraging spam to allowing for scammers to game the system. Unfortunately, vote buying and the likes are a natural byproduct of the situation as it is, where too much power is concentrated in the hands of too few people.
Personally? If I was dan or ned, I'd ban bots from the platform altogether. But without an alternative for minnows to use for self promotion - it'll just hurt the community even more.
So I am afraid that since I can't fight them, I join them. If I can't fix the issues, I can at least invest time in helping services like minnowbooster maintain a high level of correlation between quality and payout.

I am not quite a minnow yet, still in redfish stage, and will be there for awhile I am sure. But as for getting ahead on steemit, and getting noticed, there are legitimate ways to do it. And this is the number one way to do it, commenting on post that catch your eye. Commenting on post that you enjoy. I do that a lot.

What slows me down on commenting is that I want to upvote every post that I comment on, but I can not do that. What would help me most would be a pre-full fledged vote slider bar. My vote is only worth a penny, but with a pre-full fledged vote slider, one that only gives you a 50% split of your vote, would be a lot of help. I could then vote twice as often, yes it would be a smaller vote, 0.005, but it used to be only 0.001, the majority of my rewards for curation are only 0.001. Do I feel cheated by that, absolutely not.

It is leaving comments, meaningful ones, that bring a person recognition. That is the easiest way for a person to self promote.

Word!
Comments are life. I actually wrote a post about it last week. I comment waaaay more than I post.
What you can do is lease some power from MB (or users through it - I am still not absolutely sure how that works) to give your vote some more influence and earn more curation rewards, at least at first.