How do I steem? - @techslut Explaining Steemit to a Friend [VIDEO]

in #steemit7 years ago


Say hello to Dedi, a friend who has only recently heard (from me) about Steemit. Watch him looking confused as I try to explain the reward pool, curation rewards, communities and cryptocurrencies (AKA monopoly moneys).

This unplanned and unscripted onboarding is not full, and might just be the "part one" of my conversation with Dedi on Steemit. However, I hope it'll help save you time explaining Steemit to non-crypto-literate friends.

As soon as Dedi has an active Steemit account, I will be sure to add it in the comments so you can all follow.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

First time on steemit, and I've got my name misspelled! It's "Deddy", not "Dedi".

But it's been a pleasure appearing with you on the video and hopefuly I'll like it here on steemit. ^_^

Whoops. Deddy. I suck. You are adorable and I have no doubt you'll do great. Also, we might do a part 2 of this video. Explaining more stuff about how to make good posts, attract an audience, and get used to Discords being your link to the world.

Yuo can superfast edit the post from Dedi -> Deddy and no-one will ever notice ;)

Can I edit a @dtube post? I am a little scared to fuck something up.

Sure you can (never tried though)- thats how people also add text and stories to their Dmania posts.

You can edit the post from steemit, but it will not be edited on Dtube in my experience.

yea you can edit all from steemit and even removed that tiny pocs to your prefer image.

You most certainly do not suck.

Hello Deddy and welcome to the steemit community. Happy you deiced to join us

Looks like you're already off to a great start! Congratulations. :)

Sorry, Deddy, I spelled it as Dedi in another reply. Welcome to Steemit. I was like you in the beginning but the longer you stick around, the more you get the hang of it.

Welcome to steemit brother, I'll be hoping to go through your posts.

I loved it when Deddy said, "By the power of Greyskull!" The next line would be, "I have the STEEM POWER!

Dedi has the same look of confusion I had when I first tried to understand Steem and Steemit but I'm getting the hang of it more and more and I agree with @techslut that it is the future.

Thank you for posting a great intro to Steemit! I’ve been here since last month and still finding my way around. I’m stoked on this platform but uneducated on how to explain it well to others. Great video! Thanks!

Thank you SO much for this video. As a baby Steemian you have answered so many of my questions, and also provided a great summarization of what Steemit is to share with my friends and family.

Also the best part is when you ask Deddy if he has any questions and he says "Whaaaaaaaaa???" Hahaha my thoughts too!

Ahhaha can we use this in our promoting steem activities to kids.

@steemitfamilyph is involved in promoting steem through the grassroots level through schools and municipalities. Our audience especially the kids 11-16 years old have absolutely no clue on Cryptocurrency, blockchain and Steemit. Then you got the people in the municipalities who are usually 40-50 year olds and have some clout in the government because they are government workers making them understand that it is not a scam is difficult at best haha.
We believe that Steem is a great way to introduce these concepts because they don't need to invest in money but can invest in their talents and creativity to earn SBD and SP.

Don't know how to explain your name to kids though lol as it might not be approved by some teachers haha.

His face when you were explaining curation rewards and how is this this even possible when you explained that is the future of how everything will be monetized and us consuming it will have the power to hit a like, or upVote if we want it.

This was a great explanation. I'm still new here and I found this very informative. I hope it's ok to ReSteem so I can show some of my friends who are new as well. Thanks for creating this.

Of course! Resteeming is always encouraged and wanted by all. More exposure to content.

I always struggle to explain crypto to friends, sometimes I wonder if I even get it.

I pretend to get it. See in video. Not so bad at it. :)

The term Monopoly money is funny 😆 Steemit is for many also the first experience and contact into the new exciting world of cryptocurrencies, which is also quite cool. I would say the community on Steemit is very special right now 😍

This is a great way to show people how to introduce others to steemit. Never crossed my mind just to sit down with someone and show them the ropes. 👍

I do this almost daily. It's how I grow my community - one innocent victim at a time. :)

I love that fluent English.

What are these mentions + links you have in your profile tho?

oh and fuck, I can see myself in the video.:D

Those are from the Steemit More Info browser extension I have installed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56