Crypto Update: Steem and Steemit are Getting Good Press!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Every once in a while I like to revisit the topic of Steem and its biggest social networking platform Steemit. I've been a believer in the blockchain and this platform for over a year now and I've seen it grow exponentially in that time. I have friends that I tried to explain it to who shrugged me off who are now begging me to help them get followers and show them how to build a community here.

If you notice how regularly I post, that is a big part of the puzzle. I post interesting content regularly and try to get conversations sparked about it in order to make friends. I try to be the perfect model steemian creating interesting original content and interacting with other steemians in an effort to build long lasting partnerships and friendships.

While recently browsing through the news for topics I came across the topic of Steem and was curious about what kind of press it had been getting recently. After the price of SBD rose from around 1 USD to over 12 USD in less than a month I was shocked and amazed. We did this together, we brought the whales and they obviously like holding SBD which I feel is good for us as long as it seems to drive Steem prices (which it has been doing if you notice the rise from 1 USD to 2 USD in the same time period).

So, lets have a look at recent press we've gotten here for our thriving blockchain and platform. I recently read an article published by Hacked in novemeber which made some very good points. This is good press as far as I'm concerned.

More than two million blog posts are written and published EVERY DAY, and each has to find a way to break through the noise. Many content creators utilize some sort of combination of owning their own platform, guest posting or being a contributor on various other sites.

The onus of content distribution falls on the content creator, and many content creators end up finding that content distribution can take more time and effort than the creation of content itself. Then, you’ve got content creators who operate at a much larger scale and are capable of creating much bigger impressions through the use of different marketing strategies.

The author of this article discussed the value that Steem and platforms like Steemit have in terms of giving bloggers a platform where they can both be found and rewarded. I thought that instantly when I joined and I think its good to be mentioned repeatedly as this is a use case that will drive the ecosystem further.

The Steemit platform helps alleviate this problem by rewarding content curators. People who upvote and comment on posts get rewarded. The more Steem Power Units curators have, the more their vote will count, the more influence they will have, and the more they will get paid as well.

Steemit is the solution to this problem. Bloggers are getting a following and getting paid for doing the same work they would have done on their own independent platform while getting just a small fraction of the rewards that they are able to get posting on Steemit.



Lets take a look at the next article that I found on Technowize and see what they had to say about Steem and the social networking site Steemit.

If you’ve ever spent time online in the last couple of years, you’ll have heard about the success of BitCoin, the cryptocurrency whose value seems to get higher every day. You’ve also probably come across Reddit, the 8th most popular website in the world. Reddit allows users to like and share content, and vote on other people’s submissions, creating a community of like-minded content-sharers.

Now imagine combining these two into a social platform, where every piece of unique content and every upvoted comment resulted in you receiving cryptocurrency. You’re not the first to imagine it: Meet Steemit – a social media platform that pays in cryptocurrency whenever you post a story up.

This is a strong opening that really had me hooked. First referencing Bitcoin and Reddit and then comparing Steemit to a sort of hybrid.

The idea that you can earn cryptocurrency rather than have to work first to make fiat and then pay high transfer costs to get it into the cryptosphere is extremely appealing and I feel this article really made that point come to life.

As far as the boring technical stuff goes, Steemit works by saving text content into a blockchain. Every act of interaction, whether it’s curating or creating content, has the same effect as ‘mining’ for BitCoin. So the more you participate on the site, the more you earn. Interaction with other users often involves microtransactions between you as well, so the revenue stream is twofold.

For normal people they may not even know what a blockchain is yet so it makes sense that the author just mentioned it briefly and moved on to the meat and potatoes of normal everyday use. I like how the article emphasised participation. That means posting daily content and interacting with other Steemians on their blog articles as well as the comments they may post on our own articles.

I agree that monetary rewards on Steemit are directly tied to how much participation you are willing to do. Are you helpful in interacting with other members of the community? If so, be patient and the rewards will come. I know because I've been seeing things get better and better on this blog as a direct result of helping others.



This is a pretty cool image to give people a good look at what the Steemit site looks like on mobile. It's in it's new dark mode which I find very useful for night reading and posting.

While 450,000 active users is nowhere near the sort of numbers that major social media networks are running with, it’s more than enough to create a vibrant community, and the promise of earning cryptocurrency for doing something you might already spend your free time doing is an added bonus. Unlike other cryptocurrency too, you don’t have to spend real money buying in at the beginning.

I like that the author emphasised how small the number of active users are on the platform compared to 'major social networks' which to me just says, hey buddy, you aren't to late yet to join! I mean come on, the train is nowhere near to leaving the station.

His second point about the site being free to join is important as well! There are no scams going on here, it's free to join and free to post and you can even make some nice crypto for it!

This should make readers feel relaxed and more interested in checking out the site in more detail and considering they may even want to give it a shot.

Techblogger Final Thoughts

Overall I'm completely amazed at what we've seen happen with the blockchain and the social networking platform over the past few months. My jaw dropped when watching all the fantastic presenters at SteemFest2 and the excitement around SMTs and the potential it has to increase the ecosystem exponentially. I'm happy I'm here blogging and networking with you guys.

What do you think about the growth we've seen in the past 6 months? Should we expect things to get even better around here in the coming months? How do you feel about the points made in the articles I referred to in this post? Do you think these authors are doing a good job in explaining the opportunity presented with Steemit?

Thanks for dropping by!

Source:
Meet Steemit, a social media platform that pays in cryptocurrency whenever you post a story up - Technowize

Steem: Long-Term Potential Worth the Risk? - Hacked

Sort:  

And steem is on its way to reach 10$ and it will do that in 2018. I am placing my bids on steem now and with btc rate hike there will be good growth of steem as well

Absolutely. This platform is going to keep increasing for years to come. There is nothing else like it in crypto at this moment. It's disruptive to sites like reddit, facebook, you name it.

Great post techblogger (66)! Steem is def still underpriced right now compared to the rest of the market. I think it has lots of room to grow in terms of price and we will likely see much more growth starting after the holidays. It might sound crazy but i wouldn't be surprised at all if steem hits $10 by the summer.

That doesn't sound crazy to me. It actually sounds probable. Now that crypto is getting mainstream attention and adoption we will see the true winners shine all the more brightly. Steem is one of if not the best blockchain out there in terms of transaction free payments and speed. Nothing can compete. This is why I'm so bullish on EOS as well. There is room for Steem, BTS and EOS to survive and prosper alongside each other. When it comes to tech, this is where it's at.

Great article @techblogger, I was introduced to Steemit through some good friends and I think building relationships is the key to success. Steemit has allowed me to invest in crypto-currency, which I could not have done without it! The platform is a great place to share and find others with common interests. It has resparked my love of exploring and photography and I think I joined at the right time. Good luck to everyone and don't forget to share your votes, acts of kindness can make other people's days.

Absolutely. That is the key here. Don't let anybody else tell you otherwise. Keep working and networking and success is sure to follow. I appreciate you dropping by with these thoughts and I've upvoted your comment. See how that works?

I just got here, but once I started up, I immediately felt like this is the next big thing. Tons of people want to bring content to the world, and in general, want to be rewarded for it. Let's face it, a good blog post takes work and time, and time is our most valuable asset, so while it may be possible for some people to feel good about blogging for free, others want to start to see results in the form of money or something of value.

Even though a new poster might only get a few dollars or cents on their posts, that's something. Once they start to build a following, if they are doing a good job, results should follow in the form of additional money, followers, and community interaction. This type of immediate progress is great for people new to adding content online and much less daunting then starting a personal blog where results can be much more difficult to come by, at least early on

For that reason, as well as the huge amount of potential for the platform, I can only see STEEM and steemit getting bigger. I'm sure it will improve as it grows, and any issues people may have with it now can get worked out. The only reason it may be slower to catch on is a slightly higher difficulty in starting up and understanding the nuances of the site, but most people already creating content could easily switch over.

Nice write up.

It took me a while to figure out how the whole system works and I've had highs and lows about it. There are still many things I'd like to see improved around here but for now I'm quite pleased with it and really enjoy the interesting conversations here as well!

Great comment. It's exactly this; artists and content creators are tired of trying to fight through the algorithms on social media, and very much need more of an immediate return on their hard work. I've been at it for a long time, and Steemit is really meeting a very real need.

Time for steem and sbd, will break all crypto record @techblogger

Nice to see Steem getting more press. It says something about how robust the blockchain is.

Pretty good write up. I have noticed a large increase in steemit usage lately as well. I, myself, have also become more engaging in the community. Steemit can become a huge thing with the increase in good press and word of mouth from users. The biggest issue I can see is the speed of the site itself. Until that is addressed, or even a steemit mobile app is created, in my opinion it will never really take off like we hope it does.

This platform deserves that attention and massive adoption from the people. No other website offers so much opportunities to get involves in crypto as this one.

2018 should really be Steemit big year!

Very informative......thanks for sharing

I also think what steemit has brought is something that was really missing from social media. My question is, don't you think that another platform will be a bit better leaving steemit as a forgotten prototype?

Well its a good question indeed. Lets look at facebook as an example, before it there were myspace and friendster both made millions and were successful... Eventually facebook won and they died but for a time people had both. This may or may not happen here but I'll tell you what the greatest asset is here. Its people, its you and me. We are the community. We are a team and we work together. Where you go, I go. But for now we are right here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63