Thought of the day #1 To go with your Morning Coffee. . . Dr WHO??????

in #steemit7 years ago

Good Morning fellow Steemians. . .

I am here to speak to you this morning about something which has recently struck a debate with some people. I am really intrigued to hear peoples opinions on this topic. Now I would just like to use this opportunity to point out here that I am no expert on Doctor Who and I know that it now may be old news, but I am really wanting to know whether or not people agree on the new Dr being a woman?

Now for me personally, I think this is a huge step for gender equality. As a woman, it is amazing and fantastic to see a woman being given the opportunity to portray a role that has been dominated by a male figure now for over a century. I am aware however, that some people do disagree and I can also understand their point of the argument to.

I truly believe that by allowing a woman to have this opportunity to be able to go into the role which is usually a predominately male figure just demonstrates how we as a society are indeed moving forward and proving that women can fulfill a role in a some-what popular television programme regardless of gender.

I do understand though how some hard-core Doctor Who fans may be a little disappointed with this, and some-what disheartened. After all, we are so used to seeing our usual male figure travel in his time machine that we may be disappointed to learn that this role will now be maintained by a woman.

So what are you thoughts on this topic this morning? I am really interested to know. Post below so I can give you an upvote and a follow!

A

x

jodie-whittaker-1-cropped.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Wellcome to the community!

Wellcome to the community!

Good morning, Alex! How are you? Can I be the next WonderWoman, or would the feminazis be offended?

Ha ha Feminazis lol, I don't see why not?

Come to think of it, you'd look waay hotter in the Wonder Woman outfit than I. Keep the Doc a dude, capisce?

WELCOME.gif
I like your introduction, so I also gave you an upvote.

Thank you very much. . . What are your thoughts on this topic?

When it comes to people filling certain positions, I have no opinion whatsoever based on gender, race or other characteristics. I'm only concerned with the ability to fulfill the role meaningfully. It's only natural that a new Dr Who will take some time getting used to the new role, getting in the flow, refining the style and adding Dr. Who airtime experience to the skill set. So it will certainly be different, and some people are just naturally change-resistant, they would have a problem with any new candidate.

But I truly hope that when criticism comes, the defense mechanisms to defend the new Dr Who will not be gender-based either. When people are not allowed to criticize just because the object of their criticism is a women, logical reasoning is lost.

I hope we are moving to a world where we all have opportunities and limitations, different for every single one of us, but we will not limit our vision about what's right and what's not based on gender, race, sexual preference or other physical abilities.

The greatest stories are made of people that overcame huge difficulties, but persevered anyway with a positive mindset and a can-do mentality.

Absolutely correct, it is actually disappointing that today in the 21st century though how I, as a woman, still feel the need to celebrate the simple fact that a woman has been given the opportunity to fulfill a role which has been predominately male since it first began.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69430.02
ETH 3814.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66