You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Too Much Fluff: flagging and Steemit - What does the community think about my flagging habits?

in #steemit7 years ago

I understood that you flagged me because of the reward disagreement. I knew it from the start. I support your move but it's the wrong way to go at it at this point. Here's why I think you shouldn't do it at this point. It will only attract bad attention to you. The problem is in the reward curve. If whales would band to no only stop voting but to really police worthy from unworthy content then we could see a positive impact. This is my take on it. You're free to do whatever you please.

Sort:  

The problem is in the reward curve. If whales would band to no only stop voting but to really police worthy from unworthy content then we could see a positive impact

The reward curve is only part of a very complicated equation. The problem is bots and inactive wales. It happened to me, there is not always great content at the top so I find myself going to other sites very often. With all these posts promoting scams and blatant ripoff content earning spots all over the trending pages; quality blogs / insights / news ends up with rewards centered around a few accounts.

A big problem with some of these accounts is the curation economics encourage actors to actively upvote these fluff posts based on the Shilling point that others will as well. The cycle continues.

I agree that some of the larger stakeholders like @berniesanders should take a more active role in policing the blockchain but who knows, maybe they like scamcoins and advertisements.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60616.50
ETH 2911.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46