You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How STEEMIT COULD REVOLUTIONIZE THE MUSIC INDUSTRY towards a fairer and more profitable business model

in #steemit8 years ago

Micro payments dont work smooth enough. For a normal user it is complicated and means unnecessary stress. On steemit you just click on "up" and thats it. Steemit uses the like button from facebook we are all clicking so often and gives this button a real value. It is sooooo easy to support musicians you like.

Yes, steem does have the user friendly one button click upvote built in. But, a gigantic barrier to entry for many is the process of explaining where the "magic internet money" comes from. Or why it is when they upvote a post it gives the artist a penny, versus some other artist getting $200 from an upvote of a power user. Not every average user is going to read the whitepaper.

I think before this Utopian idea takes place, a LOT of really well researched and implemented user experience needs to be built to get this to be more friendly to the average non crypto savvy music consuming user. This is not to say these ideas are bad, just that they might be farther away than expected.

Sort:  

I wholeheartedly support your sentiments. However, I agree with the OP that's there's a lot of untapped potential with this type of platform that needs to be explored. That's the very reason I actually joined Steemit, to check the potential market and be in the vanguard for this new development, that I hope will change biz'. Because quite frankly - musicians have it bad these days. I don't know when I'll be able to write my post and give my two cents on the issue, but it will hopefully clarify what we as music-producers and consumers need.

People coming to the platform and interacting will be how the word-of-mouth will spread. We are the catalyst for that change, my friend. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60950.37
ETH 3387.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49