Reflections on the London Blockchain Expo

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The Blockchain Brokerage's CEO & Co-founder, Nathan Sharp, shares his thoughts on London's January 2017 Blockchain Expo.

This has been the most exciting journey of my life. To give a brief summary of what occurred, my business partner, Biswa, and I had purchased tickets to the London Blockchain Expo. I flew out there with the intent to learn and raise awareness for our startup The Blockchain Brokerage. 

The best part of the expo for me was not necessarily making connections, although I did end up leaving with quite a few of those, it was the people I got to see speak on stage. I saw Sasha Ivanov of Wavesplatform, Bobby Lee of BTCC, developers from Ethereum, and the most exciting, people coming to speak about USE CASE for Blockchain technology. I personally feel that the space is saturated with Blockchains and do not necessarily need more so much as we need utilization of this technology in our every-day lives. I feel that utilization and an eco-system of applications is what will cause the realization in price for crypto-graphics currencies.  

One of the highlights of my trip was seeing a man named Jack Shaw speak on stage about smart contracts:  

He proposed a system that would essentially sit in the computers of airplanes. As the individual pieces would give feedback on their health it would determine whether or not it would need to execute a repair contract. If the case was yes, essentially what would happen is the smart contract would systematically contact the supplier, relay location of next landing destination, and then order a blue-print of the part, which would then be sent to a 3D-printer, and delivered from the closest airplane part warehouse, and be there 30 minutes before the plane even lands, with staff on the ready to jump in to replace the part. 

When he said this I felt absolutely enlightened. Why? Because I felt that my approach with TBB was not only fully valid, but a logical move, everyone is working on making new Blockchains, I want to utilize what is already out there to create services, and from there help to build the infrastructure for tomorrow’s financial markets. 

The other highlight of my trip was getting to socialize with all of these people to whom I have been looking up. I attended the Wavesplatform meet at Revolution Bar after the expo and got to meet the team, Sasha, and some other startups that were looking into places like Papua, New Guinea. We talked about the vision we saw for crypto moving forward, it was a beautiful vision. In fact, many of the people I spoke with were not too foreign to the idea of maybe working together on a project down the line. To me, teamwork is the force that will allow this movement to gain some real traction, strength in numbers. 

I am also proud to announce that The Blockchain Brokerage’s first venture will be an Indian Bitcoin exchange named BharatPay, slated to launch before the end of Q2 this year, and there are many more exciting things to come following this, stay tuned!   

- Nathan Sharp
CEO/Co-founder TBB

[Sasha Ivanov, Nathan Sharp & Biswa Das

Sort:  

Thank you so very much for sharing this story with us all here on Steemit.com! Welcome aboard. ;) glad to read about your thoughts and feeling relating to the revolutionary technologies that are taking the world by storm as we speak.

There's so much to come in relation to this! All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Hey thanks for the warm welcome! I really appreciate it, I am glad that my opinions are understood and appreciated, I will try to keep them coming! As well as content regarding my company!

That idea for the pieces in airplanes would make users trust more on the industry.

An smart contract does what must do. If a piece must be replaced, the smart contract will communicate it, and a trace will be on the blockchain. Workers on land,-maybe because of the company rules, may not do its job. But there will be the clue that they should have done it.

Great for the investigation of air accidents, also. The blockchain will tell its truth.

I agree I think we are mearly standing on the edge of a whole new technology boom, this time it is in the software eco system.

It was great to meet you two in London! Thank you for the great talks and keep pushing. The future is a stack of Block ..chains :D

Thanks it really was a pleasure! And of course, I like to be vocal about the things that drive me to keep doing the work Im doing :-) And yeah I see the work we are doing now as laying the groundwork for the future of digital finance.

Congratulations @tbb-one! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tbb-one! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44