You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Pageviews continue falling TODAY STEEMIT PAGEVIEWS PER DAY STAND AT 817,800 <<<>>> October 14 , 2017

in #steemit7 years ago

That is very concerning. I read that to mean people are spending less time on here than before. Couple that with the fact that there are people like me who click on hundreds of pages a day and you really see an issue.

The activity is still does by a very small group. Most of the 400K+ signups are not on the site. Realistically, this is a site of 20K-25K. That is who is doing most of the work on here.

Sort:  

Hello @taskmaster4450 I agree with your observation and it is troubling to me as well .

The page view graph mimics, unsurprisingly, the Alexa ranking graph. Steemit is gradually edging downwards on that after peaking just outside the 2000 mark - now down to 2195 :

You can see from the daily stats from @arcange for example that Active Authors and Total Posts has totally flatlined since early June despite significant growth in total accounts.

As well as Total Accounts the only metric on an upward trend is Total Upvotes - a symptom I suspect of the takeover of steemit by the bots.

I do hope we haven't reached Peak Steemit already.

The billion steem question is how do we change that? What actions need to be taken to reverse the trend?

The answers I would suggest are quite radical - and would be widely disliked.

Getting rid of bots would be one part. So true curation takes place, not blind curation.

Somehow imposing controls to improve the quality of posts - eg requiring say a minimum of 150 words on a post, to get rid of the mass of posts with just a photo or a YouTube link.

The signal to noise ratio needs to be improved considerably.

Steemit needs to decide if it wants to be a true blogging platform with an emphasis on original quality content. Or whether it wants to be a mass market platform that encourages memes, witty pics and shared videos.

I am not sure it can successfully be both.

I tend to agree with you on that. It frustrates me to see a title of interest then when I click on it, it is a link to a youtube video or a few words then a link to a news site. People want to act like this is Reddit. Of course, because of the flocking concept, those people who has a bit of a follow get huge upvote amounts (in numbers and dollars).

I had a "conversation" with someone earlier in a thread and I noticed every comment he made he upvoted himself for like 20 or 30 cents (which I am fine with). What was irritating is he didnt upvote any of my comments. Looking through, this is his m.o. it seems. I dont care if you vote my comments at 1% if you are upvoting yourself, just do something.

It seems this site, like most, is overrun with selfish behavior. I guess that is natural but, somehow, the developers need to step in to correct some of these things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61078.25
ETH 2671.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51