Steemit Development - Profile Resteem Filter

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Is it possible to have a filter that can remove resteemed posts from a person's feed? Sometimes I find someone that I would like to read a lot more of their work but have to sort through their resteems as well, which can make it quite an arduous task. 

For me personally, I do not resteem very often (which I should and would like to more) because I feel that if anyone wanted to go back through my work, they would have to wade through resteems too. This is silly of course since not many people would look back past a day or two of my posts, if at all. I do for people though as it helps me get to know them better and watch them develop in different ways plus follow their trains of thought.

I also like to see what kinds of posts people I am interested in resteem too so I wouldn't be that keen to have a separate post/resteem feeds for people but a filter would probably work well. At least in my non-developer opinion.

It could also be used to filter other things or perhaps have a search to find certain types of content from a user. For example, if a person has several core content areas, it may be possible to search one of them and get a reverse chronological list returned. 

This would of course also be handy for a user to search through others (or their own posts) to use as references or links for related topics or to find older content. Maybe a search by month as I am too old and my thumbs can't keep up with all the scrolling ;)

Is anyone else interested in this kind of filter/search function? Is it useful?

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

I would also like to see something like that. But this site is in beta and I read similar posts like this. There might be some improvements in the future.

Beta, beta I know... :)
These are just subtle reminders so the wants of users don't fall through the cracks and leave only the desires of developers. ;)

I have the exact same thoughs on this.

In the meantime if you use the app busy, when you look at someone's feed you don't see their resteems.

Uhmm interesting @eroche I didn't know about that either. Gotta check the busy desktop app closer.
On other hand, to complement @tarazkp wishes, I would tend to also wish that old posts from an author could be resteemed again and rescued resurrected from oblivion on someone else feed in order to gain some exposure & new fresh air revival of previously lost appreciation., since seems that this feature is not possible nor available by now.

Oh. I have never used it. Thank you very much for the info. Will look into it.

Glad that you write about this fact. I'm pretty new here and indeed is hard to have a look on someone's posts if they resteem a lot. Definitely, a filter on their blog will help. I'm thinking also on a filter on particular tags they used, in case you just wanna follow the posts from a domain you are interested in.

Yep.
I think it would also help get more resteems going too.

Indeed. Most people are not using the resteem functionality as their content moves downwards. It's not that they do not like what they are reading, but as you mentioned it will be tough for someone else to see a previous post. Hope the developers will find a suitable solution to make it more user friendly

Of course this may be a small thing for some, especially those that write current popular event stuff or what steem is doing.

For me personally, most of my kind of content could be read at anytime so may come in handy as the site matures.

Who knows what the plans are. I will just keep throwing ideas out to the steemit world.

There is always room for improvement, so sharing our thoughts it will make the platform better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55