Resteem quote?

in #steemit7 years ago

Is it possible to add a "quote" to a resteem?

I think that I would be more willing to resteem if I could add some context as to why I am resteeming in the first place. For me, I would like to add some short views of the article itself when I resteem. The reason is that the resteem is a show of support for an article but sometimes I think it requires some explanation too.

It could be implemented as a comment and perhaps even the comment could get voted upon. I am unsure about that though because I have a feeling that there will be comments that earn much more than the article itself which I don't think is a great result.

However, if the comment share gets split between the resteemer and the author, perhaps it could work well as an incentive to both resteem more and write articles worthy of resteeming. But I am unsure about that as it may open up space for people to just make money resteeming others articles but if the split is majority author, that may not be a bad thing.

What do you think?

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

I don't think so. Great idea though.

it is a good idea, maybe one could just resteem his comment on a post and then the comment is marked to reply so you instantly see it after clicking on the resteem. I think this could be implemented rather easy.

But I am unsure about that as it may open up space for people to just make money resteeming others articles but if the split is majority author, that may not be a bad thing.

I think this is the rub. Curation is always handled directly on the post itself for this reason, so I think this would devalue the original posters post.

Perhaps this could be handled by the website front end. What if it showed your comment on the article in context with the re-steem in your blog roll? It could also show the up vote button beside your comment to allow you to gain from the re-steem from this context alone, as you do anyway if your comment is popular on another person's post.

As social media, Steemit lives very much in the present, or at least the last week of the present. I've seen many authors complain that the monetization window of posts is so short. For example on YouTube you can make money years after a video is published. Then again, the average YouTuber doesn't make as much as a Steemit user I would hazard, so there's that. Still, that's to do with an author's own posts.

The concern I have about the earning on the comment at all would be that a post that gets cents can be resteemed by a popular poster and the comment gets hundreds, The post itself will still get cents. this is why (if it did happen) the reward on the comment would need to be split.

For me though, this is less about rewards and more about adding my own thoughts to an article or statement of support etc.

It would be an interesting comparison to see the average earning per user between Youtube and Steemit.

i like your thinking ..let me know how it works out for ya :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72