My latest onboarding (reboarding)

in #steemit6 years ago

aylwin.PNG

Hi, I haven't done one of these for a while even though I have brought in several people recently but, this one is special as it is a very good friend of mine. I would like to introduce Aylwin, aka @adigitalife, who is a buddy that I have known about 8 years or so. We have many things in common, and many things we may argue about (but that doesn't stop us).

He is a very logical thinker which is both great and terrifying and I am pretty sure that he is going to this time get into the nitty-gritty that is Steemit. He actually joined about 9 months ago but only posted once and sort of let it slide. But, given the ear-bashing I gave him on the weekend, he has renewed his interest and is looking long.

An Saturday, we were shooting a wedding together and he was trapped in the car with me for several hours and was forced to endure Steemit this and Steemit that talk, and my habit of speeding. When I dropped him home, he stupidly invited me in for a coffee and the conversation continued. I sat him down and showed him a few things he may have missed the last time around.

adigitalife.PNG

I have talked about onboarding before and how it is the responsibility of the person doing the inviting to do the hard work of training and supporting the invitee so they have the best chance of success. When he signed up last year, it was me who failed, not him. I failed because at that point, I didn't really know what I was doing either. I am slowly getting the hang of how things work here though. If you are unwilling to support the people at even a basic level, think twice about inviting friends.

Now, I have trapped myself into a corner though as he has a lot of questions and he is processing this much faster than I thought he would. I am going to pull him into steemit.chat soon so I can palm him off to some other people instead ;) 'Sorry' to the chat people in advance...

Tonight, I delegated 500 SP to him so he has a voting slider and he can go out into the Steemit world and play a little more. I ask you to check @adigitalife out, throw him some comments and answers to his questions, and help him get up to speed, I think that he is one person who can bring some very interesting perspectives to a range of issues once he has had a chance to observe, interact and gather some information.

I talk a lot about supporting this platform and spreading value and there are many ways to do this. Even though I don't have a huge amount of Steem Power to spare, I find that 'buying them in' does help their engagement level as they can interact and feel the difference they could make in time.

I also ask some of the other people I delegate to (and some of my followers who may be interested), to throw him a follow also and help him find his way. Oh, and when the weather warms up (it was -19 this morning), we can get together and have a picnic or something and get to know each other better in real life too. This is more than just an online community in my opinion.

It really is great to have you here @adigitalife and I think you will soon be as addicted as I am, albeit most likely in different sections of the platform. That is something awesome about Steemit, there really are possibilities for everyone to get their minds dirty with something interesting.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Thanks @tarazkp! I feel incredibly honored by your post. But I'm also feeling a bit stressed out right now. You make me sound awesome and I'm feeling this pressure to live up to it. Does this mean I have to cancel all those cat videos and memes I had lined up to post? ;)

@adigitalife you are welcome to steemit, you may join out of Curiosity but trust me you will get addicted soon.

Thanks! It's barely been 2 days and I think I'm starting to get addicted already. :)

I literally checked that profile 10 minutes ago :)

Your welcome on steemit @adigitalife.. You got the right man to push you. There is a lot you sensitize we the followers of your blogs @tarazkp.. that your making us fellow steemit originals as you polish us on how to go about steemit.
From the spam comments you discourage, upvoting our own posts among a whole list of advice personally I've picked from what you teach us. And you go beyond that, giving us life skills, inspirational messages. This is what steemit is meant to be. Pure content from every user. We are glad for your presence on steemit. And am not surprised you've woken the steemit spirit of @adigitalife, which had temporarily gone to sleep for sometime.
Lets support more new users but without stopping at just that. But continue guiding them on how to settle into the platform for them to be ready for the challenges that come with being new to steemit. And as well adopt how steemit works and how it pushes us to work hard to get paid for what the work we produce is worth.

Right or wrong, @tarazkp is definitely pushing me! 😂

Welcome @digitalife. Steemit is an awesome community. So much to learn and so much to do and so much fun along the way.
I am having similar issues with the people I brought in to steemit. I was not prepared for how difficult it could be to teach someone something you think you know. Something that, you realise in the middle of the class, you actually don't know.

I am far away from everyone I onboarded. That is my excuse but I know that it is not a enough. I need to learn as much as I can so I can do better in bringing people to steemit.

Thank you @tarazkp

Thanks! There IS so much! There are so many aspects and my brain keeps jumping from one thing to another. I feel like a kid visiting a toy store for the very first time.

Lol and the store manager is Santa, right? Welcome once again.

What i have found i that in helping them, I have discovered a lot of things I was missing too. The more I help, the easier it all gets :)

Very true. I just realized that a friend of mine will do very well on dsound. She doesn't write much but she talks and she speaks well. I will definitely be reaching out to her and reboarding her asap. 😂

That great we must to have bigger steemit community to share this network and to expose it to us many people as possible

Talk with your friends about steemit talk with your family about steemit talk with your coworkers about steemit

Let's make it the best social network there is

I want some free advertisement too! I am awesome, I promise!

Welcome @adigitalife,

Awesome, one of my patrons just started posting on Steemit and I made an introduction post about him sort of like this one :) Love the way Steemit works like a community instead of by algorithms. I'm gonna go check out your buddy!

A big welcome to your friend once again. Mehn he has missed a lot. I knwo what I would have been able to achieve with that account if it were mine since March 2017.

I am going to pull him into steemit.chat soon so I can palm him off to some other people instead ;) 'Sorry' to the chat people in advance...

Hehehehe, this is epic as I do this all the time. It's not easy putting someone through on steemit though . It's a sacrifice we have to make.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66713.67
ETH 3063.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71